Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    12,533

    Re: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

    Quote Originally Posted by Buntu Bunny View Post
    I wondered about Mint. What is the difference between Mate and Cinnamon?
    http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2012/06/02/mate-vs-cinnamon/

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    /home/
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

    Quote Originally Posted by Buntu Bunny View Post
    I wondered about Mint. What is the difference between Mate and Cinnamon?
    You can read everything here and here.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Across The Pond
    Beans
    944
    Distro
    Xubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

    Vasa1 and GeForce 9500GT, thanks!
    "Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects." Will Rogers

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Beans
    360
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

    Coming back to the original question, I suppose you could just add the Mint repos and install Cinnamon into your Ubuntu installation:

    Code:
    deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ maya main upstream import
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install cinnamon
    should do the trick. The base system of Mint 13 is Ubuntu 12.04 anyway. You will then be able to select Cinnamon from the session section windows on the login screen.

    The above would install Cinnamon 1.4 while 1.6 was recently released. That may fix some of the problem/bugs/instabilities people see or feel

    V1.6 of cinnamon can be installed via this repos:

    Code:
     sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gwendal-lebihan-dev/cinnamon-stable
    Of course, you can go the other way to (in fact, that's what I did):

    1) install Mint 13
    2a) install unity
    2b) install gnome-shell

    Work with all of them until you know which one you like best

    Cheers,
    Riko

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Out in Left Field
    Beans
    1,165
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

    I have been using Cinnamon 1.6 on my Ubuntu 12.04 machine for about a week. I have had no instability problems (which I had with 1.4). I really like the interface which is much more crisp and professional compared to xfce (which is my previous DE)
    MB: Asrock Extreme4-M CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @3.50GHz Memory: Corsair Low Profile Vengeance 16.00 GB. GC On CPU HD4000 Platform: x86_64 Distribution: Dual Boot -Ubuntu 1804 Bionic Beaver with Cinnamon DE and Linux Mint 18 Sarah Cinnamon

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    114
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

    Quote Originally Posted by RikoW View Post
    The above would install Cinnamon 1.4 while 1.6 was recently released. That may fix some of the problem/bugs/instabilities people see or feel

    V1.6 of cinnamon can be installed via this repos:
    Actually you can install Cinnamon 1.6 using Mint's repos by adding the romeo branch to their source list.

    Code:
    deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ maya main upstream import romeo
    Update apt and you'll have inn 1.6 available. Obviously, this works for Mint 13 as well

    PS - Don't forget to install Mint's keyring, too, for error-free updates.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linuxmint-keyring

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Ubuntu 12.04 & Cinnamon

    I installed Cinnamon on Ubuntu 12.04 and like the result. I was able to install it in a matter of minutes. So should you [be able to install it quickly], assuming you have a decent Internet speed.

    Here's the method I followed: go into Terminal and enter these commands.

    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gwendal-lebihan-dev/cinnamon-stable
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install cinnamon

    It's that easy. When you're done with the code, log out. When you log back in, change the default desktop from whatever you have to Cinnamon.
    Last edited by hwyckoff; September 24th, 2012 at 01:25 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •