Thread: Need help writing a script to switch config file on button press

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Lightbulb Need help writing a script to switch config file on button press

So, I'm not very experienced with fun scripts like this so I need help and insight from those who are good at this sort of thing.

A little background:
    My mouse broke. In the meantime i plugged my xbox controller in, installed xboxdrv, and created a config file defining and customizing all the buttons for mouse operation.
    It works great. That was easy. I've actually gotten used to it and if I can make this script work the way I see it in my head, I might never use a mouse again.

So, the details:
    Basically, when I press the xbox button (xboxdrv recognizes it as "guide") I want it to cycle through a list of different profiles for different usage scenarios. Profile 1 being standard desktop operation, profile 2 is mostly the same but the R and L buttons have different functions for music control, so on and so forth. I have all of the different config files already created but currently, i switch manually.

in all the config files, the xbox button is set to XK_XF86Close which as far as I can tell, does nothing by default. next, I opened up the keyboard shortcuts gui and defined a custom shortcut which will run /home/user/joy_profile_switch.sh

this switch.sh script basically has to read which number profile that it's on and advance to the next one, if at the last then it will start back at the first again, and that's pretty much it. each profile illuminates a different led light on the controller for visual feedback of which profile i'm on.

any help, insight, or suggestions would be much appreciated.
    if somebody wants to reply with a suggestion that there's already a neat gui application for this...
    what fun would that be?

thanks in advance

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: Need help writing a script to switch config file on button press