Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How Do I Install The New Flash Player

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    26

    How Do I Install The New Flash Player

    I can't see any videos on Youtube or a lot of other content, they all tell me to install the latest version of Flash Player, so I downloaded it, now I don't know how to enable it. The name of the file is: install_flash_player_10_linux.tar.gz.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: How Do I Install The New Flash Player

    Installing Adobe's version of flash is a pain. You probably want to install Ubuntu's (easier) version by looking for "flashplugin-installer" in the software centre.

    Unless you've already done that, in which case we have a problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1
    Beans
    4,722
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: How Do I Install The New Flash Player

    open software-properties-gtk
    and enable Canonical Partners
    sudo apt-get update;sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin adobe-flash-properties-gtk
    Laptop: ASUS A54C-NB91 (Storage: WD3200BEKT + MKNSSDCR60GB-DX); Desktop: Custom Build - Images included; rPi Server
    Putting your Networked Printer's scanner software to shame PHP Scanner Server
    I frequently edit my post when I have the last post

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    26

    Re: How Do I Install The New Flash Player

    Quote Originally Posted by MG&TL View Post
    Installing Adobe's version of flash is a pain. You probably want to install Ubuntu's (easier) version by looking for "flashplugin-installer" in the software centre.
    I don't know what software centre refers to, I checked for the "flashplugin-installer" in the Synaptic Package Manager and the Add/Remove Applications thing.

    Quote Originally Posted by pqwoerituytrueiwoq View Post
    open software-properties-gtk
    and enable Canonical Partners
    sudo apt-get update;sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin adobe-flash-properties-gtk
    I think I opened the right thing, but I don't know how to enable Canonical Partners. If it's the links in the Third-Party Software, then I did it. And after typing the commands into the Terminal I was presented with this: "E: Couldn't find package adobe-flash-properties-gtk."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Calif
    Beans
    1,208
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How Do I Install The New Flash Player

    Adobe flash plugin for Firefox is in the Software Center. Search for "flash" and it will come up. The software center is in the side bar in 12.04. You can also search in the dash menu. Software center installs it for you.
    Last edited by critin; September 3rd, 2012 at 04:44 AM.
    Remember When Double-Dog dare ya's and water balloons were the ultimate weapon?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    el_GR
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How Do I Install The New Flash Player

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanarchy View Post
    And after typing the commands into the Terminal I was presented with this: "E: Couldn't find package adobe-flash-properties-gtk."
    Hello ,
    forget the properties-gtk and try to install the flashplugin-installer

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install flashplugin-installer
    when installation finish , then open Firefox and you will be fine.

    There is another way (better in my opinion) to Install Everything , to play everything in Ubuntu.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
    adobe flash player is included in this package among others.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    107

    Re: How Do I Install The New Flash Player

    mike@ice-3:~$ sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
    [sudo] password for mike:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    ubuntu-restricted-extras is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    mike@ice-3:~$

    It still doesn't work. What do I do now. Uninstall? Try again?

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •