Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Savage 2 installation issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    322

    Question Savage 2 installation issue

    Platform -
    LinuxMint 13 KDE [Ubuntu 12.04]
    Intel G620
    GTX 460 1GB
    4GB RAM

    Downloaded Savage 2 from savage2.com and when run the installation (Savage2-2.1.0.7-linux-installer.run) i get the following:
    Code:
    (main.tcl:4465): Gdk-WARNING **: gdk_window_set_icon_list: icons too large
    
    (main.tcl:4465): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: value "1.003484" of type `gdouble' is invalid or out of range for property `fraction' of type `gdouble'
    
    (main.tcl:4465): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: value "1.006969" of type `gdouble' is invalid or out of range for property `fraction' of type `gdouble'
    does anyone know what this means?
    Last edited by Artificial Intelligence; August 22nd, 2012 at 04:30 AM. Reason: added prefix
    Xubuntu 14.04.2 x64 -- Win 7 Ultimate x64
    i7 3700 -- 12GB DDR3 -- GTX 770 4GB -- 750GB Hybrid+320GB+32GBSSD mSATA -- FPS 650W M Gold

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    1,419

    Re: Savage 2 installation issue - Ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by manuleka View Post
    Platform -
    LinuxMint 13 KDE [Ubuntu 12.04]
    Intel G620
    GTX 460 1GB
    4GB RAM

    Downloaded Savage 2 from savage2.com and when run the installation (Savage2-2.1.0.7-linux-installer.run) i get the following:
    Code:
    (main.tcl:4465): Gdk-WARNING **: gdk_window_set_icon_list: icons too large
    
    (main.tcl:4465): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: value "1.003484" of type `gdouble' is invalid or out of range for property `fraction' of type `gdouble'
    
    (main.tcl:4465): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: value "1.006969" of type `gdouble' is invalid or out of range for property `fraction' of type `gdouble'
    does anyone know what this means?
    You're not running Ubuntu 12.04, you're running Mint. Perhaps you should ask this question in the Mint forums.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    322

    Re: Savage 2 installation issue - Ubuntu 12.04

    thanks that guy... have forwarded this onto Mint Forum, cheers
    Xubuntu 14.04.2 x64 -- Win 7 Ultimate x64
    i7 3700 -- 12GB DDR3 -- GTX 770 4GB -- 750GB Hybrid+320GB+32GBSSD mSATA -- FPS 650W M Gold

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    1,419

    Re: Savage 2 installation issue - Ubuntu 12.04

    FWIW, if anyone running Ubuntu gets the preceding error messages, they can be safely ignored. The game can be run by going into the directory you set up while installing the game and typing the following:
    Code:
    ./savage2.bin
    Or, you can create a .desktop file for it, if you're into that kind of thing.

    Or, you can install Savage 2 through Desura, if you have a Desura account.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark - Scandinavia
    Beans
    18,966
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

    Re: Savage 2 installation issue - Ubuntu 12.04

    Moved to Other OS/Distro Talk.
    | AMD Ryzen 1700x 3.4 GHz | ASUS PRIME X370-A | 32 GB 2400 Mhz DDR4 |
    | ASUS Nvidia 1070 8 GB | SSD 250 GB | HDD 1 TB |


    Check my Desktop for ideas Desktop 1 and Desktop 2
    What Sheldon Cooper thinks of Ubuntu.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    322

    Re: Savage 2 installation issue - Ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by thatguruguy View Post
    FWIW, if anyone running Ubuntu gets the preceding error messages, they can be safely ignored. The game can be run by going into the directory you set up while installing the game and typing the following:
    Code:
    ./savage2.bin
    Or, you can create a .desktop file for it, if you're into that kind of thing.

    Or, you can install Savage 2 through Desura, if you have a Desura account.
    thanks thatguru,

    there was a .desktop file created... are these .desktop icons meant to be displayed? i have two of them when i open Desktop on Dolphin
    1. Savage2.desktop
    2. Trine2.desktop (installed previously)

    both games are awesome and i'm loving it on Linux

    only problem now is that Savage 2 only displays half on one of my monitors

    my only solution at the moment is to disable one monitor (for Savage 2)

    would you know a work-around for this thatguruguy? i don't want it displayed througout two monitors... just want it forced into just one display like Trine2
    Xubuntu 14.04.2 x64 -- Win 7 Ultimate x64
    i7 3700 -- 12GB DDR3 -- GTX 770 4GB -- 750GB Hybrid+320GB+32GBSSD mSATA -- FPS 650W M Gold

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •