Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

    The new grub is fairly complex. How would I find instructions on adding a file (/boot/floppy.img) to the boot menu?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

    I've found this:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/CustomMenus

    but even with that, it is unclear how to add a disk image.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

    By image do you mean a background image? GRUB accepts .png, .tga or 8-bit .jpg files. You can add an image to the /boot/grub folder and when you run 'update-grub' it will be added as the GRUB background.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Displays#Installing_Splash_Images
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    By image do you mean a background image? GRUB accepts .png, .tga or 8-bit .jpg files. You can add an image to the /boot/grub folder and when you run 'update-grub' it will be added as the GRUB background.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Displays#Installing_Splash_Images
    I am trying to boot a FreeDOS disk image so that I can update the BIOS on an old laptop that lacks a floppy drive. It's old but not so old that it would still have a floppy.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Noodén View Post
    I am trying to boot a FreeDOS disk image so that I can update the BIOS on an old laptop that lacks a floppy drive. It's old but not so old that it would still have a floppy.
    Ok. The image (ISO) has to be constructed to allow GRUB to boot it. The Ubuntu family of ISOs has been GRUB-compatible for quite a while. I don't know if FreeDos is built to allow booting by Grub2 or not.

    Here is the documentation on booting an ISO via Grub2:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/ISOBoot

    I'll look at some of the posts in my old thread on the Ubuntu Forums and see if I can find a FreeDos entry.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

    Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    I'll look at some of the posts in my old thread on the Ubuntu Forums and see if I can find a FreeDos entry.
    Thanks. There's also a fair amount for Grub 1 and FreeDOS. I might be able to figure out how to apply it to Grub 2.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Adding a bootable disk image to grub's boot menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Noodén View Post
    Thanks. There's also a fair amount for Grub 1 and FreeDOS. I might be able to figure out how to apply it to Grub 2.
    I couldn't find a FreeDos entry in my main ISO booting thread. If you find it is bootable from G2 and get a working menuentry please let me know. I built a page on the Community documentation for working ISO menuentries and do not have one for FreeDos.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,627
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    FreeDOS on Grub 2

    I've pieced together something that boots FreeDOS using notes from around the net. The package syslinux needs to be installed and then memdisk copied to /boot, along with the FreeDOS image which I renamed to /boot/floppy.img. Then I put the following into /etc/grub.d/41_custom used by update-grub:

    Code:
    cat <<EOT
    menuentry "FreeDOS" {
        linux16 /boot/memdisk
        initrd16 /boot/floppy.img
    }
    EOT
    I have no idea what I actually did, but it boots FreeDOS.

    Edit: The whole point of this was to be able to update the BIOS on a machine lacking floppy drive.
    Last edited by Lars Noodén; August 12th, 2012 at 10:54 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: FreeDOS on Grub 2

    Thanks. Happy Ubuntu-ing and FreeDos-ing !
    GRUB2

    Retired.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •