Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Conky Irritation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hatboro, PA
    Beans
    2,555
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Conky Irritation

    Trying to get conky to obey my max width settings, but no matter what I put in it does whatever it wants to. Halp?

    Here's my conkyrc: http://pastebin.ubuntu.com/1081321/
    Asus Zenbook: Solus 4.1 GNOME | Dell Latitude: Ubuntu 20.04 Server

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    rocket city,al,usa
    Beans
    659
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Conky Irritation

    What is "doing whatever it wants" ?

    Did you copy from somebody else and change the font size, conky will go by the height/width settings but the font size might cause everything to move around.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hatboro, PA
    Beans
    2,555
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Irritation

    Quote Originally Posted by jmfal View Post
    What is "doing whatever it wants" ?
    Despite me setting the max width for the conky window, it "chooses" to be whatever size it wants. Even if I set the allowable width of text, it doesn't obey that setting either.

    Quote Originally Posted by jmfal
    Did you copy from somebody else and change the font size, conky will go by the height/width settings but the font size might cause everything to move around.
    All OC...
    Asus Zenbook: Solus 4.1 GNOME | Dell Latitude: Ubuntu 20.04 Server

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    rocket city,al,usa
    Beans
    659
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Conky Irritation

    Without seeing your conky I would say that you need to use {goto xx}

    Which will set what you put after that at xx (pixels) from left border of conky, otherwise every thing is set to display from left to right, and bunched up to the left side of your conky

    say you set hwom sda to {goto 90} it will display starting from the 90th pixel and to the right.

    Use screenruler, set it to pixel, and you can drag it around and get a good approximation of where you should put {goto xx}

    Code:
      NAME                    PID       CPU%    MEM%
    ${color 000080}${top name 1} ${goto 120}${top pid 1} ${goto 170}${top cpu 1} ${goto 220}${top mem 1}
    ${top name 2} ${goto 120}${top pid 2} ${goto 170}${top cpu 2} ${goto 220}${top mem 2}
    ${top name 3} ${goto 120}${top pid 3} ${goto 170}${top cpu 3} ${goto 220}${top mem 3}
    ${top name 4} ${goto 120}${top pid 4} ${goto 170}${top cpu 4} ${goto 220}${top mem 4}
    ${top name 5} ${goto 120}${top pid 5} ${goto 170}${top cpu 5} ${goto 220}${top mem 5}$color

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hatboro, PA
    Beans
    2,555
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Irritation

    I don't need a "margin" or an indent on one side of the text, I just don't want the entire conky window to go past a certain pixel.

    I've attached a screenshot of my conky right now, with the conkyrc I pastebin-ed.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Asus Zenbook: Solus 4.1 GNOME | Dell Latitude: Ubuntu 20.04 Server

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    rocket city,al,usa
    Beans
    659
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Conky Irritation

    OK then try changing lines 17, 18 your gaps are set to zero and that lets conky go to edge of screen and possibly off the screen
    try ===gap_x 10
    gap_y 10

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Conky Irritation

    There is no such setting as..
    Code:
    maximum_size
    Use this to fix the width at 500.
    Code:
    minimum_size 500
    maximum_width 500
    May need to make it bigger to accommodate longer months.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by stinkeye; July 8th, 2012 at 08:08 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Hatboro, PA
    Beans
    2,555
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Irritation

    Quote Originally Posted by stinkeye View Post
    There is no such setting as..
    Code:
    maximum_size
    Thanks for this... I misread the man page.
    Asus Zenbook: Solus 4.1 GNOME | Dell Latitude: Ubuntu 20.04 Server

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •