Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: C++ program crashes

Beans

C++ program crashes

hi,
    I am just learning about arrays. I know this isnt real world usage, but how come when i create a variable with 30 million arrays the program crashes? Shouldnt the kernel first go to the swap file before crashing? My laptop has 6GB ram and 12GB swap. Or is this just a c++ limitation?

Beans

Re: C++ program crashes

That is pretty aggressive in terms of memory usage, and there are usually plenty of ways to avoid using something that large. There are probably options you can pass to the compiler to allow your program to handle such large objects, but that's almost certainly solving the wrong problem.

It's a bit like the fellow who complained, "Hey! I hate these Microsoft guys! What a rotten compiler! It only accepts 16,384 local variables in a function!" Limits like that, and like the one you're running into (whatever exactly it may be), aren't often encountered in the wild because smart programmers don't often write programs that exceed them.

tl;dr -- "Well, don't do that then."

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

I do not mean this in offensive way , but i read your question over three times to make sure i wasnt reading it wrong, 30 million is huge , are you talking about using 30 million arrays or putting 30 million elements in an array?
    Registered Linux user: #543082
    Registered Ubuntu user: #34219
    http://dvisagie.com/

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Quote Originally Posted by Lymphocyte View Post
    hi,
    I am just learning about arrays. I know this isnt real world usage, but how come when i create a variable with 30 million arrays the program crashes? Shouldnt the kernel first go to the swap file before crashing? My laptop has 6GB ram and 12GB swap. Or is this just a c++ limitation?
    The program crashed, not the kernel... Care to show us the source?