Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do I format a WD Passport HD (more)

Beans

Question How do I format a WD Passport HD (more)

Firstly, I'm a complete noob. I don't even really know what "grub" is, etc. I'm an old-school DOS/Windows user so go easy on me please.

I want to format a Western Digital My Passport drive that currently has Ubuntu 11.10 on it. This is the drive that I have had Ubuntu on from the beginning, and I have had numerous problems after updating it to Ubuntu 12.04 LST. I first updated 11.10 on the drive online and when I rebooted everything went south. I tried updating it from a LiveCD but no go. I'm wondering whether or not some if not all of my problems are with old partitions/installs, SO, what I want to do is wipe this HD as thoroughly as possible to get it all "shiny and new" so to speak, and then try a straight-up clean install from a LiveCD and see if that works. Working from a LiveCD isn't what I need at this point, hence wanting to get it working from the HD. How do I do this running from a LiveCD?

BTW: I have another thread that pertains to this, but it isn't about formatting. I'm assuming that I should mark it solved but I need to know that from someone before I do.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: How do I format a WD Passport HD (more)

Assuming you have already backed up all files you need from the now broken 11.10 installation, you can just choose to "use whole disk" at the new installation disk partitioning/preparation stage. That will wipe everything that is currently on the disk and put the new OS in its place.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by ajgreeny View Post
    Assuming you have already backed up all files you need from the now broken 11.10 installation, you can just choose to "use whole disk" at the new installation disk partitioning/preparation stage. That will wipe everything that is currently on the disk and put the new OS in its place.