Thread: Kernel error with newest update

Beans

Question Kernel error with newest update

After updating Ubuntu (I have it installed on a WD Passport USB Drive) it now pull up with an error stating that "I need to load the kernel first". Complete newb when it comes to Linux/Unix so I don't know any of the mechanisms of how Ubuntu works, or how to "load the kernel" myself. Apologies if this has been addressed elsewhere here but I couldn't find this particular problem. When it gives me a list of versions I run (am running) the previous version of Ubuntu (sorry about the non # info) and it works alright except for some keyboard-quit-working issues.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

Re: Kernel error with newest update

Does this occur as the system boots? As in after the BIOS screen you get this message.

-Red
    Everything in the future is a wave, everything in the past is a particle. -Lawrence Bragg

Parabola: https://parabolagnulinux.org/
    Completely freed... Libre GNU/Linux !!!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

What version of Ubuntu are you running? Also - have you tried using:

Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    To make sure everything is up to date? If this occurs during system boot, like Redblade20XX asked, it could be a corrupt install.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Hi

This sounds like GRUB may be looking for the kernel but cannot find it. Check GRUB.

I'm off to bed though so i cannot help till tomorrow. I'm sure others will help you though like the two posters above.

Kind regards
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by BlackWolfe View Post