Thread: No grub after Lubuntu install!

Beans

Red face [SOLVED] No grub after Lubuntu install!

So, introducing my girlfriend to Linux, I decided to install Lubuntu 12.04 on her netbook while she's away.
    My goal was to have a dualboot with Windows 7 Starter and Lubuntu.

After having successfully installed Lubuntu from a LiveUSB, I was prompted to reboot as usual. Then my computer booted straight into Windows without starting grub at all!
    I was able to re-enter Lubuntu from the LiveUSB, but that's still the live version, not using what I've just installed.

Details about installation

/sda/sda6 -where I installed Lubuntu AND bootloader, mounted on /
    /sda/sda5 -swap-area

TL;DR - Dualboot Win/Lubuntu, GRUB missing after Lubuntu install

Please advice quickly, or else girlfriend will think I'm a total newb=P
    Last edited by Kols; July 1st, 2012 at 11:16 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: No grub after Lubuntu install!

Kols

Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums.

Boot into the LiveCD, install Boot Repair, and click the 'Recommended Repair' button.

If that fails to fix the problem, there is an option to run the boot info script. Post the link it provides so we can take a look at your setup.

The link to Boot Repair is in my signature line.

Perhaps we can get this sorted out before your GF even notices.
    Back to Xorg...

Retired.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by drs305 View Post
    Kols

Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums.

Boot into the LiveCD, install Boot Repair, and click the 'Recommended Repair' button.

If that fails to fix the problem, there is an option to run the boot info script. Post the link it provides so we can take a look at your setup.

The link to Boot Repair is in my signature line.

Perhaps we can get this sorted out before your GF even notices.
    Thanks for quick reply!

Will your solution work, even though I'm not actually IN the installed version of Lubuntu, but the LiveUSB session that I used