Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    3

    Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    Hi,

    For some reason, firefox changes my default search engine in the search bar from google to ask.com without any notification. The drop-down triangle beside the icon doesn't given me anything except ask.com. Does anyone know how to change it back to google?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,099
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    You can select "Manage Search Engines" from that same drop-down menu and select "Google". Also, you can try removing the "Ask.com" entry. If "Google" doesn't show up as a choice, then you can try adding it by selecting "Get more search engines" from the Manage Search Engine List dialog box. If that doesn't work try, "Restore Defaults".
    Last edited by Shadius; June 24th, 2012 at 06:59 AM.
    Question Everything

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Calif
    Beans
    1,208
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    In the drop down triangle, only Ask is there? There is a Manage Search Engines on the same page. There also should be a 'Get more search engines' link. What about "Restore Defaults"

    Something you downloaded did that. You might also go to View toolbars and delete ASK or it will keep coming back.

    Oops--slow again, there were no replies when I began typing. lol
    Remember When Double-Dog dare ya's and water balloons were the ultimate weapon?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Beans
    1,559
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    ask.com usually injects inself very deep into your browser. You can follow the tutorial here to remove it from about:config.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,099
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    You might have the Ask.com add-on. Go into your Add-ons and remove it or disable it. Whichever you prefer. You can find it by going to Tools>Add-ons. From there, you'll be able to choose whether to disable or remove it.
    Question Everything

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    Thanks for all your reply, but it didn't work.

    From Manage Search Engine, I couldn't find google in the list and ask.com IS the default one that I just restore ask.com again when I click "restore default".

    When I click "Get more search engine", it takes me to another add-on page where I still can't find google. (Found google image, but i want the web)

    about:config solution doesn't seem to have any effect on the browser too and I don't have ask.com add-on installed.

    Just wondering now how you can add google one of the option in the list now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,099
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by JDL Wahaha View Post
    Thanks for all your reply, but it didn't work.

    From Manage Search Engine, I couldn't find google in the list and ask.com IS the default one that I just restore ask.com again when I click "restore default".

    When I click "Get more search engine", it takes me to another add-on page where I still can't find google. (Found google image, but i want the web)

    about:config solution doesn't seem to have any effect on the browser too and I don't have ask.com add-on installed.

    Just wondering now how you can add google one of the option in the list now.
    You could try reinstalling Firefox. I would do that as a last resort though, but I'm out of ideas. Remember if you do reinstall Firefox, you'll lose your bookmarks and such.
    Question Everything

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    Ok, thanks for all your helps! I'll try re-installing firefox.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Beans
    1,559
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadius View Post
    You could try reinstalling Firefox. I would do that as a last resort though, but I'm out of ideas. Remember if you do reinstall Firefox, you'll lose your bookmarks and such.
    Not really. The configs will still be there.
    Thankfully, Firefox 13 implemented a nuke all Reset Button, which will delete all settings, addons, configs, while still keeping your bookmarks and passwords. Open about:support (or go to Help > Troubleshooting Information), click "Reset Firefox".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    1,099
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Change Default Search Engine in Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by zombifier25 View Post
    Not really. The configs will still be there.
    Thankfully, Firefox 13 implemented a nuke all Reset Button, which will delete all settings, addons, configs, while still keeping your bookmarks and passwords. Open about:support (or go to Help > Troubleshooting Information), click "Reset Firefox".
    Oh, right, I forgot about that! Thanks for the correction.
    Question Everything

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •