Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Change Boot Reference

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    Have you tried a full power down or cold boot. Sometimes BIOS seems to get locked up.
    You should get BIOS boot screen and it should show options on how to set boot order. BIOS should also tell you it can see hard drives. If BIOS does not see a drive, then it will never be bootable.

    Did you correctly install to CD? You do not copy it, but have to use the instructions/software to extract as that also creates a bootable CD or USB flash drive.

    As last resort you can remove drives, but since it is RAID you have to remove both?
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    Yes, I have turned the server on and off many times while trying to get the server to work.
    I only have booted from devices shown in bios boot order menu.
    Yes. I burned the DVD correctly using ImgBurn.
    For the last resort, i do not know what the RAID disk looks like or where it is stored within the server. Only if I could change the drive from the RAID disk to a normal Hard Disk without having to disassemble the server entirely... I do have a couple of spare hard disks after replacing HDDs with SDDs, but the server itself is SO old that I have not found a guide to tweaking it on the internet yet.
    Any tips? Any ways I could possibly fix the server? I've tried reburning the Ubuntu server iso on to a USB (I do not want to burn 10 of the same iso files) and booting from it, no luck. I am stuck with Ubuntu installed but with no GRUB, the screen is black with only a flashing cursor thing that won't let me type, and I cannot boot into the installer. I heard the black screen with cursor is common on nVidia devices (or however it is spelled), I have seen the way to fix it somewhere (I can look in browser history), but the DVD won't boot, so I am stuck.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    If it is that old it may not boot from USB flash.

    Often a server like that is totally designed as a server and the RAID is hard ware not software, but every brand/design can be different. You may only be able to use RAID drives of a certain type and only with the same RAID hardware. It is not like the almost standard desktop computer. Or it could just be the computer and is designed to hook up to another chassis that has many RAID hard drives.

    This does not look like something an absolute beginner should start with. Some in the server sub-forum may know more, but expect you to be knowledgeable of what RAID is at least.

    Do not use gparted on RAID.
    http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-res...-software-raid
    Don't bother with RAID 0 unless you have a specific need for speed without data redundancy, since if one drive goes out, you lose the whole array.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID
    parted (3.0) completely removes filesystem creation and modification support, except for filesystem probing to determine what's in a partition.
    Last edited by oldfred; June 21st, 2012 at 04:41 AM.
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    I am used to installing operating systems to computers and such, for I have done it one too many times while trying to fix a netbook. I can usually solve almost any problem by common sense, but the "bricked" server is different. I just cannot understand why Ubuntu will not boot. The setup did tell me that I could boot without GRUB2 by entering commands, but it will not let me. The server was made somewhere around 2006.

    EDIT:
    I know basically what RAID is. Only if I could remove it and put in a normal hard drive... but that will leave a large gap within the server.
    The RAID disks must be the four numbered boxes shown in this image. There is nothing else that could be the RAID disk inside the server, it is the only thing that looks like it could hold 2TB.

    Also, should I ask the question over at the Server forums?
    Last edited by sarcasticphoenix; June 21st, 2012 at 03:38 PM. Reason: Stuff Changes...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    If it is hardware based RAID I do not know if you can even remove it. If software you can remove the RAID meta data and in effect convert to what looks like 4 hard drives.

    From a liveCD you have to add in the RAID software.

    The Boot-Info report may not show much as nothing is installed, but try running it and post link.
    Boot Repair -Also handles LVM, GPT and separate /boot.:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair
    You can repair many boot issues with this or 'Create BootInfo' report (Other Options) & post the link it creates, so we can see your exact configuration.

    Everytime you boot liveCD install this:
    sudo apt-get install mdadm

    Also for installing on fakeraid (motherboard raid), this might help you:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaid
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FakeRaidHowto
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1777458
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1338445&page=5
    Software RAID w/mdadm driver
    https://help.ubuntu.com/11.10/server...tallation.html

    Only if you totally want to break the RAID and it is software RAID.
    Presence1960 on remove old raid setting from HD
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1325650
    sudo dmraid -E -r /dev/sda
    sudo dmraid -E -r /dev/sdb
    probably for all 4 drives???
    Also check BIOS for raid settings
    More discusion:
    http://wwww.ubuntuforums.org/showthr...38#post9274738
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    I do know that there are 4 500GB Seagate Hard Drives.
    There is a option during boot to change and configure RAID (I think it was by nVidia.) I once deleted the RAID setup, but it just showed me the same setup screen, obviously the server wants me to have a RAID disk.
    However, I did find that I can change the RAID type, such as striped, mirrored, or mirrored stripe. Since I ran out of time, I changed it back to RAID5, but I will experiment with that later. Also. When setting up the RAID, it gives me the option to erase the MBR. Could be useful, but I kept the MBR as is.
    Also, I tested other bootable disks to see if they worked (to see if the install disk not working was an Ubuntu problem.) I tried LinuxMint, Debian, and even Windows Server 2012 RC, but all failed. The server must hate booting installers.
    As usual, Ubuntu still won't boot, and I cannot load a Live CD to fix GRUB2. I did find that I can literally remove hard drives by sliding the boxes out shown in the image earlier.
    Tomorrow, I will test the various things to fix everything.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    rocket city,al,usa
    Beans
    659
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    Are you trying to turn this server into a desktop or an ubuntu server?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: Change Boot Reference

    I am trying to turn it into a server.
    If there is any remaining RAM while hosting the server, I might browse the web or something if I am too lazy to turn my laptop on.
    I bought this server because my laptop isn't good enough for a server.

    EDIT:
    Bootable stuff works again, yay.
    One of the USB ports were broken.
    Last edited by sarcasticphoenix; June 22nd, 2012 at 04:29 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •