Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: No wireless connections after sleep/suspend

Beans

[SOLVED]No wireless connections after sleep/suspend

Recently, I've setup a dual boot with Ubuntu 12.04 and everything seems to be going fine.

The networking works perfectly, until I access sleep mode/suspend. After that, when I logon, the wireless connection is lost. I attempted to connect via 'connecting to a hidden wireless network' and entered the password, but it takes a long time to connect and eventually prompts me for the password again without acquiring connection.

After I reboot, however, WiFi works again.

Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Wireless-N 130

If you tell me how to fix it with commands, if you don't mind, please tell me what the commands do as I'm new to Ubuntu =\
    Last edited by SkyJP; June 16th, 2012 at 02:39 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: No wireless connections after sleep/suspend

This technique sometimes, but not always works. We are going to add a file that tells the system that we have a module (a.k.a. driver) that we want to explicitly unload on suspend and reload on resume. The driver we'll unload and reload is your wireless driver iwlwifi. Let's use the text editor gedit to write a file. Since it's a location owned by root, we'll need to temporarily gain administrative privileges with sudo:
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/pm/config.d/config
    Add one line:
    Code:
    SUSPEND_MODULES="iwlwifi"
    Proofread carefully, save and close gedit. Reboot.

How does it work now?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans

Thank you, so far it has worked perfectly

Beans
    Distro

Please use thread tools at the top to mark Solved so the searchers can find it.

Note to searchers: your wireless driver may not be iwlwifi. Please check and ask if in doubt.