Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Force System Information to be Displayed

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Force System Information to be Displayed

    When logging into my 12.04 x64 server I get:
    "System information disabled due to load higher than 2.0"
    Rather than the system information that is typically displayed on login. Is it possible to force the information to be displayed on login regardless of the server load?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Force System Information to be Displayed

    Type:

    landscape-sysinfo
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Force System Information to be Displayed

    Is it possible to do this automatically on login?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Force System Information to be Displayed

    Quote Originally Posted by mortrca View Post
    Is it possible to do this automatically on login?
    Not sure. I wasn't able to find much info about that program.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Coquitlam, B.C. Canada
    Beans
    2,237
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Force System Information to be Displayed

    I think you could edit /usr/share/landscape/landscape-sysinfo.wrapper to do what you want. Perhaps save the original file first, in case you want, or need, to restore it later.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NY's first capital
    Beans
    2,636
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Force System Information to be Displayed

    Quote Originally Posted by Doug S View Post
    I think you could edit /usr/share/landscape/landscape-sysinfo.wrapper to do what you want. Perhaps save the original file first, in case you want, or need, to restore it later.
    You can likely just add a sleep timer to give the system time to load services, hence allowing CPU cycles to drop.

    add:

    Code:
    sleep 3
    Start with 3 seconds to see if that is enough time.
    Nothing is ever easy, but if it is difficult you must be doing it wrong.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Force System Information to be Displayed

    Quote Originally Posted by Doug S View Post
    I think you could edit /usr/share/landscape/landscape-sysinfo.wrapper to do what you want. Perhaps save the original file first, in case you want, or need, to restore it later.
    Thank you, after making some changes to landscape-sysinfo.wrapper I am getting the desired behaviour.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •