Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: need to set up backup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    135

    need to set up backup

    and I'm having a few challenges.

    1. the drive I want to back up to is owned by root, and I don't have access to it. How do I fix this? I know I can sudo in a terminal, but where do the disks "reside" in the file system?

    2. When I partitioned my backup disk, somehow I gave the two partitions identical names. Can I rename one of them?

    3. I was just going to use backup, but if anyone has a recommendation for something better, I'm all ears.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: need to set up backup

    Quote Originally Posted by mzimmers View Post
    and I'm having a few challenges.

    1. the drive I want to back up to is owned by root, and I don't have access to it. How do I fix this? I know I can sudo in a terminal, but where do the disks "reside" in the file system?

    2. When I partitioned my backup disk, somehow I gave the two partitions identical names. Can I rename one of them?

    3. I was just going to use backup, but if anyone has a recommendation for something better, I'm all ears.

    Thanks!
    http://www.remastersys.com/ the best backup system for the system in my opinion, easy, reliable and fast.

    For data;


    Change the drive permissions;

    [CODE]sudo nautilus[/CODE EDIT: You should use gksu or gksudo to run graphical programs as root. See here;

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=12006778&postcount=3

    ]



    Yes, you can rename a partition. Use Gparted;



    Instructions for renaming;

    http://www.tricksfind.in/2011/05/how...in-ubuntu.html

    More related info;

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MoveMountpointHowto
    Last edited by traditionalist; June 7th, 2012 at 08:24 PM. Reason: Changed info on using sudo. New information
    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    135

    Re: need to set up backup

    Thanks for the answers. I think I might have screwed something up on my partition rename, though. My partition doesn't have a mount point. How do I go about adding one? I can re-format if necessary; the partition is empty now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: need to set up backup

    Quote Originally Posted by mzimmers View Post
    Thanks for the answers. I think I might have screwed something up on my partition rename, though. My partition doesn't have a mount point. How do I go about adding one? I can re-format if necessary; the partition is empty now.

    To set it up, use gparted. Click on the device and look at the information using "View"



    Choose what you want to do and Gparted will do it.

    Gparted must be used with great care! If you make a mistake it can destroy your system.

    Make sure you know what you are doing and are on the right device before you change things. Before you can do anything to devices they must be unmounted.

    If you want to change something on a /root partition you need to do it from a live disk as you can not unmount the running root partition.
    Last edited by traditionalist; June 7th, 2012 at 09:02 PM.
    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    135

    Re: need to set up backup

    Sorry if I'm being dense -- I'm past the point indicated in your picture. I have my two partitions now, but...one of them doesn't have a mount point. I don't know what to do from here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: need to set up backup

    Quote Originally Posted by mzimmers View Post
    Sorry if I'm being dense -- I'm past the point indicated in your picture. I have my two partitions now, but...one of them doesn't have a mount point. I don't know what to do from here.
    Choose the disk you wish to set up. Delete any partitions now on it. Make a new partition, using the whole disk if desired, or whatever size you want. Format that partition and give it a mount point. More or less standard for extra disks is;

    /media/devicename

    in the case shown below one of my extra disks is set up as shown;



    This is what you should use unless you want to do something else with that disk. Of course the device name must correspond to the device on your system.
    Last edited by traditionalist; June 7th, 2012 at 09:40 PM. Reason: Typo
    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    135

    Re: need to set up backup

    OK, here's our misunderstanding: I can't delete all the partitions on this drive; one of them is used when I boot Windows. I have two partitions:

    - /dev/sdb1 (for Windows)
    - /dev/sdb2 (for Ubuntu, once I can set it up right)

    /dev/sdb2 doesn't have a mount point, and (I believe) I need to give it one in order to use the drive/partition, right?

    Or, am I mistaken in thinking that each partition can have its own mount point?

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: need to set up backup

    Quote Originally Posted by mzimmers View Post
    OK, here's our misunderstanding: I can't delete all the partitions on this drive; one of them is used when I boot Windows. I have two partitions:

    - /dev/sdb1 (for Windows)
    - /dev/sdb2 (for Ubuntu, once I can set it up right)

    /dev/sdb2 doesn't have a mount point, and (I believe) I need to give it one in order to use the drive/partition, right?

    Or, am I mistaken in thinking that each partition can have its own mount point?

    Thanks.
    That is not a misunderstanding. It is the result of incorrect information. You did not say you had other partitions on the disk.

    In that case just delete whatever is on /dev/sdb2 make a new partition in it, format it and give it a mount point. Without a mount point disks are not accessible to the system. Each partition can have its own mount point.
    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    135

    Re: need to set up backup

    OK, I click on the unallocated portion of the drive and select Partition->New.

    1. Should this be a primary partion, or extended?
    2. What file system should I select?
    3. How do I go about giving it a mount point? I can't find that option within gparted.

    Thank you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: need to set up backup

    Quote Originally Posted by mzimmers View Post
    OK, I click on the unallocated portion of the drive and select Partition->New.

    1. Should this be a primary partion, or extended?
    2. What file system should I select?
    3. How do I go about giving it a mount point? I can't find that option within gparted.

    Thank you.
    You have to find some things out for yourself. Using google, or searching this forum, or reading the manual for whatever you want to use. You don't need help, you need information. I am not an information service. If you don't know anything at all about something then you have to make an effort to find out before asking for help.

    http://gparted.sourceforge.net/
    Last edited by traditionalist; June 7th, 2012 at 10:17 PM.
    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •