Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    945

    Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    Trying to burn a DVD data disk using Brasero but during
    the burning process I get an error and the disc is
    not readable nor mountable.

    Bugs in Brasero?

    Ubuntu 12.04 64-bit version.

    Carl
    Carl
    My other hobby is antique Radios and TV restoration.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    don't know what's happening on your system but I've burned about half dozen LiveCD's of various Ubuntu releases using Brasero in 12.04 64-bit without problems.

    Brasero 3.4.1-0ubuntu1
    New to Wayland.

    Retired.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    Quote Originally Posted by cwmoser View Post
    Trying to burn a DVD data disk using Brasero but during
    the burning process I get an error and the disc is
    not readable nor mountable.

    Bugs in Brasero?

    Ubuntu 12.04 64-bit version.

    Carl
    Works fine for me now, but I did have some problems burning system disks which turned out to be faulty. Hung up the program and the burner. Couldn't find/create a checksum.
    There is always a way, but it might not be the best way, or your way!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    945

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    Tried it a different way.


    This way does not work for me:

    Insert DVD, get prompt to open with CD Creator, dismiss,
    and click on Brasero to burn.

    This way does work for me:

    Insert DVD, get prompt to open with CD Creator, OK,
    DVD burns OK.

    In both instances, the software cannot not eject the disc.
    It puts up a message box telling me to eject the disc.

    Carl
    Carl
    My other hobby is antique Radios and TV restoration.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    1,783
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    You could try K3B for burning discs. I prefer it.
    Keep Ubuntu free! Donate any amount you like – just use the PayPal donation address donations@ubuntu.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    43

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    Brasero did not work for me either, gave a data error message.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    333

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    Quote Originally Posted by mapes12 View Post
    You could try K3B for burning discs. I prefer it.
    2nd K3b.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    945

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    Glad to hear that others are having issues with Brasero and its
    not all my incompetence.

    Going to give k3b a go.

    Thanks

    Carl
    Carl
    My other hobby is antique Radios and TV restoration.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    20

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    I just wanted to add my two cents worth. Yes newb85 lot of bug reports have been filed for Brasero. However having spend several hours researching this issue I have gotten Brasero to work. Can someone verify this solution?

    Two systems running Xubuntu 13.04 and Mint 13 (Mate); both using Brasero 3.6.1.
    Problem, Brasero burns images and data cDs but failes to make a copy; error out.

    I found that if I install the following, Brasero would make a copy of an audio cd.
    > cdrdao
    > cue2toc

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Caerdydd, Cymru DU
    Beans
    97
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Brasero does not work in 12.04 64bit ...

    It would seem that Brasero has been causing problems for the past 3 years, since 10.04 was launched. Whether this issue is related to a seemingly general one of rushed releases with packages that are included by default that just don't work I don't know. I haven't until today tried copying CDs but I'm having problems in that Brasero gets to the point where there is a window with a progress bar and the words. 'preparing to copy...' but no action at all, it just remains stuck on this. This is extremely frustrating when it's a package included by default, it should just work, or it shouldn't be included as a default application.

    I have now downloeded and installed cue2toc, as suggestrd by jwillar, so I shall now go and try again.

    Strangely, I can copy DVDs with no problems whatsoever.
    Nid yw Anarchiaeth am anrhefn a chwal, ond am Ryddid, Cyfrifoldeb a Threfn
    Anarchy isn't about chaos and disorder, it's about Freedom, Responsibility and Order.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •