Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Bastion shows no graphics

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    39

    Bastion shows no graphics

    Hi all

    I installed Bastion using Ubuntu Software Centre. I'm running Xubuntu 12.04.

    When I run Bastion, after the WB & developer logos appear, I get a black blank screen with just the music. I can see the cursor and move it. If I move the cursor over where the menu buttons are supposed to be, I can hear the distinct "click" sounds.

    Anyone know what is wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by YongQing View Post
    Hi all

    I installed Bastion using Ubuntu Software Centre. I'm running Xubuntu 12.04.

    When I run Bastion, after the WB & developer logos appear, I get a black blank screen with just the music. I can see the cursor and move it. If I move the cursor over where the menu buttons are supposed to be, I can hear the distinct "click" sounds.

    Anyone know what is wrong?
    Bastion and Psychonauts both have this problem - they use S3tc textures and for some reason Intel graphics cards don't use these automatically on Linux.

    The fix is not very hard though.

    Open a terminal enter the following:
    Code:
    gksudo echo "force_s3tc_enable=true /opt/Bastion/Bastion.bin.x86_64" > /opt/Bastion/Bastion.sh
    gksudo chmod a+x /opt/Bastion/Bastion.sh
    Then, once that's done, you need to fix the menu launcher to use Bastion.sh.

    In the terminal, enter the following:
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /usr/share/applications/Bastion.desktop
    (This will use gedit to open Bastion.desktop. In Xubuntu, replace gedit with mousepad.)

    In that file, change Bastion.bin.x86_64 to Bastion.sh Save the file and close and you're done. Bastion should load up with no black screen.
    Need an awesome emulator front-end for Ubuntu? Look no further than Gelide!
    Gelide Tutorial (Click Here)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    I had same problem with this game (Ubuntu 12.04, Ati 6450).
    This work's for me.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0
    Last edited by ubusou; June 3rd, 2012 at 10:31 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    2

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    Ubusou this works! (but no sound...) awesome. any ideas why the sound is missing now?...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    Mike_IronFist way worked for me like a charm (ubuntu 12.04 amd64 with Intel card). However my Bastion files were not installed in /opt but in /usr/local/games so I had to change the commands to reflect that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lynn Haven, FL
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by ubusou View Post
    I had same problem with this game (Ubuntu 12.04, Ati 6450).
    This work's for me.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0

    This also worked for me on Xubuntu 12.04 32bit. No other tweaks necessary and sound still worked fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    6

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    This worked for me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    8

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by ubusou View Post
    I had same problem with this game (Ubuntu 12.04, Ati 6450).
    This work's for me.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0
    Worked like a charm for me. (Ubuntu 12.04, Mobile Intel HD chipset). Thanks!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    12

    Talking Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    Perfekt - That worked for me too (Intel Core i7 Graphics 3000).

    Why is this dependancy missing on the packages and how did you come to the idea that this is the right package?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Bastion shows no graphics

    Hi Guys

    I tried to follow mike_iron_fists instructions. I noticed that in the instruction it says for xubuntu. I am running Ubuntu 12.04 and when i run the first entry for terminal, it says that the directory doesn't exist.

    I then tried to change the directory part of his suggested entry to this :
    gksudo echo "force_s3tc_enable=true /opt/Bastion/Bastion.bin.x86_64" > /usr/share/applications/Bastion.sh

    When i enter this its says "Bash: bash: /usr/share/applications/Bastion.sh: Permission denied"

    What am i doing wrong ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •