Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    16

    Exclamation Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    More than year ago I tried to use Ubuntu but I had to give up due to issue with setting resolution and refresh rate. I described problem, looked for solution and then asked here on the forum for help and came back to Windows as nobody was able to solve the problem.

    You can find my old thread about the issue here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1744267.

    Now, after more than a year I have installed Ubuntu and I can't set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again (I still have the same hardware - GeForce 430 GT, Acer AL1916). I'm really amazed that such a important issue like this haven't been fixed for a year or more.

    I have tried to do same things I did last time when I tried to fix the issue. Except that I have done following:
    cvt 1280 1024 75
    # 1280x1024 74.90 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 80.30 kHz; pclk: 138.75 MHz
    Modeline "1280x1024_75.00" 138.75 1280 1368 1504 1728 1024 1027 1034 1072 -hsync +vsync

    xrandr
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
    default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1024x768 50.0*
    800x600 51.0 52.0 53.0
    680x384 54.0 55.0
    640x480 56.0
    512x384 57.0
    400x300 58.0
    320x240 59.0

    xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_75.00" 138.75 1280 1368 1504 1728 1024 1027 1034 1072 -hsync +vsync
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

    xrandr --addmode default 1280x1024_75.00
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

    xrandr --output default --mode 1280x1024_75.00
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 1024x768 (desired size 1280x1024)

    jot@Desktop-AMD:~$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

    jot@Desktop-AMD:~$ xrandr --output default --mode 1280x1024_75.00
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
    I'm asking for help again but I'll be surprised if someone is able to help me with solving that problem here. I'll probably have to get used to this crappy resolution as coming back to Windows is out of question.

    Are there any places except this forum and Ubuntu IRC where I may report the issue to developers and ask for sufficient help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wabasha MN
    Beans
    2,486
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Are you trying or have you loaded any proprietary drivers for this hardware? And if you have, have you tried your display without loading them? I don't know anything about your display card but I thought I would just throw this out here. Maybe someone else has the same hardware or close to it that might be able to help.
    Information on my Main laptop. Information on my small laptop Dell 11 3000
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 250 SSD.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Quote Originally Posted by irv View Post
    Are you trying or have you loaded any proprietary drivers for this hardware? And if you have, have you tried your display without loading them? I don't know anything about your display card but I thought I would just throw this out here. Maybe someone else has the same hardware or close to it that might be able to help.
    I'm using proprietary drivers at the moment. I have experienced the same issue without them and on live CD. IMO there's something wrong with screen recognition and it limits maximal resolution to 1024x768. Now my screen is called 'Laptop' in display setting. It was called 'CRT-0' when I tried Ubuntu year ago.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wabasha MN
    Beans
    2,486
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    I'm not sure what this will tell you but I ran across this.
    Dynamically testing different resolutions
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Res...nt_resolutions
    Here is another place to look.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto
    Information on my Main laptop. Information on my small laptop Dell 11 3000
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 250 SSD.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    5,686
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jot-z View Post
    I'm really amazed that such a important issue like this haven't been fixed for a year or more.
    I don't see why; you're still using the same broken monitor.

    You were on the right track before, but goodness knows where you got those numbers from. The appropriate values for that monitor, according to the specs, are

    Code:
        HorizSync       30-82
        VertRefresh     56-76
    Also, 50Hz wasn't hurting your eyes both because it wasn't running at 50Hz and because refresh rate is meaningless for an LCD.
    None but ourselves can free our minds

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Quote Originally Posted by irv View Post
    I'm not sure what this will tell you but I ran across this.
    Dynamically testing different resolutions
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Res...nt_resolutions
    Here is another place to look.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BinaryDriverHowto
    I'm afraid that I don't understand how it would help to solve the problem. I have already tried using xrandr commands to set resolution and it failed. I use NVIDIA drivers (I have written about it in my previous posts).

    Quote Originally Posted by CatKiller View Post
    I don't see why; you're still using the same broken monitor.

    You were on the right track before, but goodness knows where you got those numbers from. The appropriate values for that monitor, according to the specs, are

    Code:
        HorizSync       30-82
        VertRefresh     56-76
    Also, 50Hz wasn't hurting your eyes both because it wasn't running at 50Hz and because refresh rate is meaningless for an LCD.
    Could you explain how my monitor is broken? It's properly detected on Windows and I can set its default resolution and 75Hz refresh rate on Windows. If the issue is really caused by monitor, I'll send it to service centre or try to buy new one. A few years ago when I tried older Ubuntu versions I could also set default resolution of my monitor.

    If you found mistake in xrandr commands which I typed, could you correct me or explain me what I need to do, please? I don't understand what I have done wrong.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    5,686
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jot-z View Post
    Could you explain how my monitor is broken?
    Even though the mechanism to correctly identify your monitor and advertise its capabilities has been in existence for nearly 20 years, your monitor doesn't have it, relying instead on a Windows "driver" that's simply a text file containing the information that should have been transmitted through EDID. Broken.
    None but ourselves can free our minds

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Quote Originally Posted by CatKiller View Post
    Even though the mechanism to correctly identify your monitor and advertise its capabilities has been in existence for nearly 20 years, your monitor doesn't have it, relying instead on a Windows "driver" that's simply a text file containing the information that should have been transmitted through EDID. Broken.
    Are there any workarounds to allow Linux to identify the monitor properly?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    5,686
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jot-z View Post
    Are there any workarounds to allow Linux to identify the monitor properly?
    Yes. You can either tell X the correct refresh rates by modifying xorg.conf, which is what you were doing before albeit with the wrong values, or you can create a new mode for XRandR with timing information. I can probably help a bit with the first option (which is slightly less flexible) or someone else can probably help with the second option that I am less familiar with.
    None but ourselves can free our minds

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Cannot set default resolution and refresh rate of my screen again.

    Quote Originally Posted by CatKiller View Post
    Yes. You can either tell X the correct refresh rates by modifying xorg.conf, which is what you were doing before albeit with the wrong values, or you can create a new mode for XRandR with timing information. I can probably help a bit with the first option (which is slightly less flexible) or someone else can probably help with the second option that I am less familiar with.
    It would be great if you helped me.

    That's my xorg.conf:
    # nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
    # nvidia-settings: version 295.33 (buildd@allspice) Fri Mar 30 13:37:33 UTC 2012

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout0"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "CRT-1"
    HorizSync 28.0 - 55.0
    VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce GT 430"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "TwinView" "0"
    Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-1"
    Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    What do I need to change or insert?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •