Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Upgrading from 10.04 to 12.04

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Upgrading from 10.04 to 12.04

I'm a novice-to-intermediate Ubuntu user, and I've been on 10.04 since it came out. I've seen the Unity desktop and it looks pretty cool, and frankly, I'm tired of some of the problems my ASUS laptop has with 10.04. I'd like some help upgrading to 12.04.

I'm aware that I'll probably want to do a clean installation. I already have the .iso burned to a CD, so that's taken care of. What I'd really like help with is making the transition as seamless as possible. How do I back up everything I want to keep? How do I know where everything I want to keep is stored? I know I'll obviously want my /home and /var/www directories saved (because I'm a web developer and do test work on localhost), but what else is important?

Please let me know any information I can give you to help.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Upgrading from 10.04 to 12.04

Depends on what you want to keep. Do you have a list? In most cases, backing up the home folder would be enough.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Well I'd definitely like to back up my home folder, and I definitely want to keep the stuff in /var/www. But I don't know about anything else. I don't know what folders hold what things. It would be nice if I could keep all the applications I currently have installed.

Beans
    Distro

There is no real need to know what's in every single folder. Just backup stuff that you know about, like config files you've been editing, personal files, etc. Backing up installed application wouldn't work, because most of the packages for Precise had been upgraded, and the old ones won't work.
    For packages from the repositories, you can make a list of everything installed, and then use that list to reinstall the same (new) packages.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=261366