Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Remmina not working after upgrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    16

    Remmina not working after upgrade

    I upgraded from 11.10 to 12.04 - everything is pretty much fine except for Remmina, which is not able to connect to anything...

    I have a few RDP connections defined (to both Linux and Windows servers). They work fine with the Remote Desktop Client, but not with Remmina... Remmina always reports: "Unable to connect to RDP server [IP]".

    Any clues anybody?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    42

    Angry Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    Running 12.04 64bit and same problem here. I noticed that I'm missing the RDP plugin in Tools>Plugins. And when I start from terminal I see it complaining that it can't find the RDP plugin even though the remmina-plugin-rdp is installed and
    Code:
    remmina-plugin-rdp.so is in /usr/lib/remmina/plugins
    Last edited by sforces; May 2nd, 2012 at 08:56 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    2,258
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    I would re-install remmina. I run 12.04 64 bit and have had 1 problem with rdp to windows servers.

    That problem is I cannot connect with 32bit color, only 24. used to be able too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    42

    Angry Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    Tried reinstalling. Have same issue on two systems now. Both upgraded to 12.04 64bit. One a desktop, one a laptop.

    Quote Originally Posted by collisionystm View Post
    I would re-install remmina. I run 12.04 64 bit and have had 1 problem with rdp to windows servers.

    That problem is I cannot connect with 32bit color, only 24. used to be able too.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    10

    Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    Remmina not working for me too.
    Some of my connections are OK but most of them just show a black window. Also on 12.04 64 bit
    Edit:
    Just noticed if I maximize the window I can see the remote desktop, unmaximizing after doesn't break it either.
    Last edited by omriasta; May 3rd, 2012 at 04:08 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    2,258
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    do you see

    remmina-plugin-rdp.so

    in

    /usr/lib/remmina/plugins

    ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    42

    Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    Yes, see my original post. But it still complains that it can't load it.

    When loading from terminal, the exact message is:

    Code:
    Failed to load plugin: /usr/lib/remmina/plugins/remmina-plugin-rdp.so.
    Remmina plugin VNC (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin VNCI (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin SFTP (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin SSH (type=Protocol) registered.
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Plugin not found (type=0, name=RDP)
    Quote Originally Posted by collisionystm View Post
    do you see

    remmina-plugin-rdp.so

    in

    /usr/lib/remmina/plugins

    ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    16

    Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    Well, in my case, this is happening on 32bit version. I tried to run remmina from command line:

    Code:
    $ remmina -c .remmina/1324540368496.remmina 
    Remmina plugin RDP (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin RDPF (type=File) registered.
    Remmina plugin RDPS (type=Preference) registered.
    Remmina plugin VNC (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin VNCI (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin SFTP (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin SSH (type=Protocol) registered.
    connected to 192.168.144.1:3386
    This looks promising, but still a pop-up shows the same error: Unable to connect to RDP server 192.168.144.1

    BTW: I connect to VMs run under VirtualBox on that server. As I said before, the connection using the Remote Desktop Client works fine.
    Last edited by kszys; May 4th, 2012 at 04:05 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    16

    Smile Re: Remmina not working after upgrade (partially solved)

    A little update after (a lot) of experimentation:

    It appears that the problem is somehow related to the version of the RDP server. The problem manifested itself, when I tried to access machines running on VirtualBox 4.0.16 and using the VRDP server of VirtualBox. This still does not work.

    However, when I created new VMs on another machine using VirtualBox 4.1.12, Remmina is able to connect to it without any problems.

    Also, I confirmed that the problem seems to be related to the FreeRDP libreries, as if I tried to use good old Remote Desktop Client (which does not use FreeRDP libraries), it can connect to both the old and new VirtualBox machines.

    Hence, the solution appears to be in my case to upgrade VirtualBox.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    228

    Re: Remmina not working after upgrade

    I have/had exactly the same problem on a new 12.04 install on 32- & 64-bit OS.
    Seems related to dependencies - possibly the RDP protocol.

    I've been able to load remmina OK from another host over remote-X OK (`ssh -XCv $USER@$REMOTEHOST:/usr/bin/remmina`), so I'm not exactly sure what the root cause could be (gdb & strace is not helping much).

    I've made a bug-report; I would urge you all add your 2c to bump attention to the issue:
    https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?fun...0&atid=1181674

    UPDATE: on a whim I tried it again today - launched OK, but can't honestly say if it'll still work tomorrow.
    ANOTHER UPDATE: after a reboot the problem is back. CLI launch craches with:
    $ remmina
    Remmina plugin GKEYRING (type=Secret) registered.
    NX: detected keyboard type pc105/za
    Remmina plugin NX (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin RDP (type=Protocol) registered.
    Remmina plugin RDPF (type=File) registered.
    Remmina plugin RDPS (type=Preference) registered.
    Segmentation fault (core dumped)
    Last edited by freakalad; May 12th, 2012 at 02:13 AM.
    FLOSS'er

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •