Thread: Ubuntu Server permission guidelines and questions

Hybrid View

Beans

Ubuntu Server permission guidelines and questions

I am fairly new to the linux community but I am powering through most of my issues thus far thanks to the wealth of information online regarding solutions to various issues. One problem that I am having has been kicking my butt for the past few days and I can't seem to form a google query direct enough to find a solution. Let me give you a little back story.

I recently rented a VPS and installed Ubuntu Server 10.10 on it. I installed it with the defaul LAMP stack, mail server, and ssh options. Everything was going swimmingly, until I came across the permissions for ftp (installed vsftpd) and other web development issues. My situation is that I would like to create a development environment where I can add developer to certain projects, but I want to restrict permission to those specific directories for both regular access and ftp access. For example:

in my /var/www directory, I have 2 sub-directories, call them 'a' and 'b', so the I would add developers to groups 'deva' and 'devb' and chown those directories to be something like don:deva 755

Now, that is all well and good for regular access, but a few of my projects are wordpress related and allowing for the full range of wordpress functions (i.e. uploading crap!), to me, would seem to take a separate group to own the wordpress folders. When I change the owner of everything in the /var/www/ directory to www-data, all is well and good but the devs would then need to be added to the www-data and have access to the other projects and I understand that to be unsafe.

To sum up the entirety of my issue:

How do I set my permissions so that

a) The developers in the different groups only have rw access to their specific projects.

and

b) Wordpress can upload files.