Thread: Skype runs incomplete? 12.04 64 bit

Beans

Skype runs incomplete? 12.04 64 bit

Dear all:

I am very new to ubuntu. I had 11.10 in 32 bit version running. Skype was installed and was working fine.

I have now installed 12.04 in 64-bit.

Downloaded skype for 64-bit. It was installed (but does not appear in software center under installed applications). It opens and seems to work.

Skype does not appear in the upper right corner task. I cannot access the options, which should be in the upper left corner, as always? There is nothing.

After I oppend skype once and close it I cannot log in a second time. It says "skype is probably running".

I do not know how to deinstall skype and really don't know how to proceed.

Thx for any hint.

Tom

Beans

Re: Skype runs incomplete? 12.04 64 bit

I had exactly the same problem. I solved it by de-installing skype.
    Add the partner repositories in update manager (in fact add the repositories in /etc/apt/sources.list)
    Then either install through software center or terminal (apt-get)

de-install skype:
    open software center. type skype in the search window and click remove.
    alternatively open a terminal and type: sudo apt-get remove skype

Then open update management
    click configuration
    go to the 2nd tab and tick partners repositories

if partner repositories are not there, add them by clicking 'add'
    Last edited by robbosch; April 29th, 2012 at 01:52 PM.

Beans

Thx.

I have de-installed skype.

In the updated manager I have checked the second tab. Everything is ticked (but for the cd-option).

I don't know howe to add partner repositories?

Something must still be wrong: When I download skype now the software center crashes.
    Last edited by escrappa; April 29th, 2012 at 02:29 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

The Skype notification area icon appears on my 12.04 machine, so not sure why it's not appearing on yours.