Page 13 of 18 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 175

Thread: Precise known bugs with workarounds

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    211
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds - Ambiance sub-menus light like Radiance

    Quote Originally Posted by philinux View Post
    If you have ambiance as your theme and you right click the desktop, for example, you'll see a light menu rather than dark like Oneiric.

    The discussion surrounding this "design decision" is here.

    Bug Report 925895

    The fix if you want it is here.

    Theme fix for Precise
    Thanks for that! I couldn't find something that worked until I saw this.
    He's watching you . . .
    WARNING: You are in the presence of a n00b. Stupid questions can and will be asked.
    "Better the pain of hard work than the pain of regret."

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    I m using ubuntu on RV509 Samsung Laptop but it was unable to install drivers of nvidia graphic card

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    Suspend was not working. It would go into suspend mode really quick and nice but, it would not resume to anything but, a black screen.
    I had to press the reset button on my PC and reboot every time. I searched for answers and there are none out there.

    I had added the xswat ppa and upgraded nvidea-current, etc. to version 302.17.
    Turns out that was what caused my problem. I have a Nvidea Geforce 9800.

    I followed the paragraph at the top of this page and did a ppa-purge which reverted my driver back to 295.40 and suspend works fantastic now!

    https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-x-swat/+archive/x-updates/

    This is my 2nd install of Precise and the first time I stayed with the default driver and was amazed at how fast suspend went into effect.
    I never had any problem with it going into suspend mode or waking from it.
    I can say that it goes into suspend mode much, much faster than windows 7 goes into sleep mode.
    The fans and the CPU are off before my monitor turns off!

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    29

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    I don't know enough to know if this is a "bug" or just one of those "works-as-designed" things. I've been using 12.04 for a few weeks now, and on a couple of occasions over the last week, I've had episodes of extreme network slowness.

    This *seemed* to begin after I added a bunch of "block" addresses to my /etc/hosts file. (which was funny, because I was used to this method causing problems on Windows, not Linux).

    I isolated the slowness to traffic between my laptop, and my home router (DND 3300, using AT&T DSL as my ISP). As near as I can figure, my ubuntu 12.04 machine thinks that the DNS server is my router. (192.168.1.1) - When every other machine on my network (varieties of Windows, Mac OS X, iOS, Android), all get the DNS server ip addresses forwarded from the router via DHCP.

    I have found some articles stating that 12.04 changes the way Ubuntu does dns resolution, instead of using /etc/resolv.conf, this file is dynamic and represents output from resolvconf, and this obtains dns information from dnsmasq. A lot of these articles suggest ways of disabling dnsmasq, (though I'm not sure this is a good idea, for forwards-compatability). dnsmasq uses /etc/hosts for resolution, by default, first.

    I'm not sure why that would be a problem, because it should just block those addresses, and blast through, and then resolve any others off the dns server it has. But it didn't seem right to me that the DNS server is listed as 192.168.1.1. DHCP should give my client the DNS server addresses, like every other machine.

    What I ended up doing was modifying my /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf file, and entering:
    prepend domain-name-servers (with a comma-separated list of my ISP's name servers, followed by some free dns servers, in case my problem was caused by my ISP's servers being flaky).

    This seemed to fix the problem, but since it was really intermittent, I'm not sure if it's going to happen again, say two days from now.

    But if this behavior is related to the configuration- change of using this local dnsmasq service, then I'd say it could be called a "Precise bug". A system configured with a static IP probably wouldn't see a problem, because dns servers would be explicitly specified. I think you're not supposed to need to explicitly specify dns servers for dchp - but the fact that I was getting SOME resolutions, and others were timing out like crazy, means that there was probably some content dependency on the contents of /etc/hosts. I don't think it should do that.
    Long story short: turned out that the problem was my DSL profile with my ISP. Not a "precise" bug.
    It seemed like it was my ubuntu system only, because it was intermittent; but the problem was that the DSL signal was so poor, that it would bog down the responsiveness of the router.
    Resetting the profile (ISP support rep does this remotely) seemed to fix it.
    Last edited by blortuga; August 3rd, 2012 at 05:23 AM. Reason: follow-up

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    Does anyone know what those it mean this text below ?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    106

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    This bug hasn't been fixed yet:-

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...y/+bug/1010461

    'Installation failed. The installer encountered an unrecoverable error. A desktop session will now be run so that you may investigate the problem or try installing again'.

    Workaround here:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1966588

    Edit. Error doesn't occur using alternate installer.
    Last edited by heyup; August 14th, 2012 at 04:42 PM.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nr BrandsHatch, S'oaks UK
    Beans
    1,241
    Distro
    Lubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    Hi!, All, Re: Most Unity Launcher Icons Invisible.

    I formatted the root partition of my 12.04 updated to 12.04.1; it had a separate /Home partiton I left unaltered. I then installed 12.04.1 from a newly downloaded LiveCD.

    The installation was completed OK, except for - for some reason, I had not chosen the option to install propriatory drivers - installing the nvidia 173 drivers which messed up my graphics. Using 'Remove' in Additional Drivers put that right.

    However, the Icons in the Unity Launch bar were mostly invisible, though the title showed when the Mouse Pointer was over one; even the ones that did show did not work when selected.
    Code:
    unity reset # and
    unity replace # and rebooting
    produced only screens full of error messages; though at least they did not hang unfinished, as previous installations always did.

    However, running:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall ubuntu-desktop
    displayed all the Icons I expected, and none of the Unity default Icons I did not want.

    Only the 'GConf Cleaner' and 'Update Manager' did not have their correct Icons.

    They were even at the smaller 32 pixel size.

    Chao!, bogan.
    Last edited by bogan; August 26th, 2012 at 06:27 PM. Reason: spacing
    "Better Solutions may bring Worsened Problems": After Lao Tse, b. circa 405BC. a contemporary of Confucius, who died circa 600BC.
    They did things differently in those days, apparently!!

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    Did a fresh install of 12.04.1 today and Paddy, I only had Unity and Unity 2D as the only 2 selections after the initial install.
    I had to install Gnome Classic in order for it to be selectable and Compiz and Cairo Dock for other selections to appear.

    Unity works fine, but in Gnome Classic there are no window switchers that work. Every time I tried to select one from CCSM, it froze and I had to press the reset button.
    There is no default window switcher like the one in Unity.

    Does any one know a work around for that? Or is there a bug filed? It sure is annoying!
    If you press Alt+Tab it froze also.

  9. #129
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    4,402
    Distro
    Lubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    Did a fresh install of 12.04.1 today and Paddy, I only had Unity and Unity 2D as the only 2 selections after the initial install.
    I discovered how I had got the Gnome Classic options. I installed alacarte (Main Menu) in order that I could add, remove and modify menu items (the Dash uses the Main Menu). Installing alacarte installs Gnome Classic.

    Incidentally, 12.10 does away with Ubuntu 2D. It has some clever mechanism by which people without suitable graphics cards automatically get the same basic functionality as Ubuntu 3D, such as being able to change the Launcher size. I haven't tried installing alacarte on 12.10, though.
    Full system encryption with dual-boot —— Full Circle Magazine —— Problems with WINE?
    In my day, we had the outdoors in which to run, play, and socialise. Now people use computers for that.

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    11,380

    Re: Precise known bugs with workarounds

    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Landau View Post
    I discovered how I had got the Gnome Classic options. I installed alacarte (Main Menu) in order that I could add, remove and modify menu items (the Dash uses the Main Menu). Installing alacarte installs Gnome Classic.

    Incidentally, 12.10 does away with Ubuntu 2D. It has some clever mechanism by which people without suitable graphics cards automatically get the same basic functionality as Ubuntu 3D, such as being able to change the Launcher size. I haven't tried installing alacarte on 12.10, though.
    Have you also installed Gnome Tweak Tools (Advanced Settings)? That one also pulls in a bunch of Gnome stuff.
    Users can easily damage their systems by using sudo su if they aren't experienced enough.

Page 13 of 18 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •