Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Broadcom STA Wireless drivers not working on Acer aspire 5750G, Ubuntu 12.04

Hybrid View

Beans

Broadcom STA Wireless drivers not working on Acer aspire 5750G, Ubuntu 12.04

Hi, I'm new to linux, I've only been using it for a short period of time. I just upgraded to Ubuntu 12.04, and stupidly didn't check if everything would work before upgrading. I am now stuck without working wifi. I'm not positive what my wireless card is, but the Broadcom STA wireless drivers seemed to work without any problems. My laptop is an acer aspire 5750G, running Ubuntu 12.04. When I go into the additional drivers section of system settings, the drivers show up, but when i click activate, it comes up with this error:

"Sorry, installation of this driver failed.

Please have a look at the log file for details: /var/log/jockey.log"

I have no clue what this means. Help me Ubuntu forums, you're my only hope!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Broadcom STA Wireless drivers not working on Acer aspire 5750G, Ubuntu 12.04

A known issue is that jockey; also known as Additional Drivers, suggests the wrong driver for a few Broadcom cards. Let's find out what you have and solve it. Please open a terminal and run and post:
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep 0280
    The pipe symbol | is on the right side of my US keyboard on the same key with \. Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans

Re: Broadcom STA Wireless drivers not working on Acer aspire 5750G, Ubuntu 12.04

here's what i got

03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM43227 802.11b/g/n [14e4:4358]
    is that any help?

Beans
    Distro

Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM43227 802.11b/g/n [14e4:4358]
    Perfect!

With a temporary ethernet connection, please do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall bcmwl-kernel-source
    After it's done, do: