Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Native PDF highlighting in Linux

Hybrid View

Beans

Question Native PDF highlighting in Linux

Dear all

I have been using Ubuntu for a while now (4 years), but I am still a begginner-google-dependant user.
    I dont know much about Linux, or programming, but something intrigues me.

How come after all these years developing PDF readers for linux there is still no native PDF highlighting??? Is it so difficult to achieve?

Im getting tired of using windows softwares under Wine.

Okular and Xournal are not options, you cannot save the annotations to the PDF files and if you do, other PDF readers do not recognize it.

Could somone explain me why there is still no native PDF reader with Highlight in Linux???

Beans

Re: Native PDF highlighting in Linux

I haven't found any native Linux tools for annotating pdfs, but PDF XChange Pro works very well under Wine, and allows import and export of annotations in standard Adobe Acrobat fdf format. It's not free, but it packs a lot of power for $38 for the Pro version.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

With xournal, you can export to pdf, and then read the new pdf file with any pdf read such as acrobat reader or evince.

Example:

You have file.pdf

Open file.pdf with xournal, and then save it as fileComments.xoj. Now add comments and save; do not close xournal yet. Select File > Export to PDF
    in order to create fileComments.pdf. Now you have a pdf file with comments. As an alternative to using Export to PDF, you could Print to PDF.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by zerubbabel View Post
    I haven't found any native Linux tools for annotating pdfs, but PDF XChange Pro works very well under Wine, and allows import and export of annotations in standard Adobe Acrobat fdf format. It's not free, but it packs a lot of power for $38 for the Pro version.