Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: SSL certificate blues

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    10

    Re: SSL certificate blues

    Quote Originally Posted by webservervideos View Post
    is port open on your firewall? Tried a different browser? Are you doing something with proxy using/going through one?
    It fails in IE and chrome. No Proxy that i'm aware of.
    This is a dedicated box that I'm renting.

    Is there an easy way to test for a firewall?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    10

    Re: SSL certificate blues

    After thinking about it, I don't think there's a firewall.

    If I disable my default site and leave only the default-ssl up, when I navigate to the site I get a response that says I'm trying to communicate with plain text to a sever that's using encryption.

    It would seem as though something is getting through?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    10

    Re: SSL certificate blues

    Solved.

    I just realized all my testing has been with a CA that did not include www.

    I was able to troubleshoot using these tools: (Life saver!)
    http://www.sslshopper.com/ssl-certificate-tools.html

    Can I generate a ca of *.domain.com to cover all sub domains of my site?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mataro, Spain
    Beans
    12,975
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: SSL certificate blues

    Quote Originally Posted by oboyledk View Post
    Solved.

    I just realized all my testing has been with a CA that did not include www.

    I was able to troubleshoot using these tools: (Life saver!)
    http://www.sslshopper.com/ssl-certificate-tools.html

    Can I generate a ca of *.domain.com to cover all sub domains of my site?
    You can. I think they call them mutil-domain or something. Or UCC certificates.

    Of course the price is higher than for a single domain. Depends on the provider how much higher.

    GoDaddy for example seems to have one with unlimited sub-domains for 145€ annual (where I am the pricing is shown in € by default.
    http://www.godaddy.com/ssl/ssl-certi...s.aspx?ci=8979
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    11,646
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: SSL certificate blues

    Quote Originally Posted by darkod View Post
    You can. I think they call them mutil-domain or something. Or UCC certificates.
    They are usually called "wild-card certificates."

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mataro, Spain
    Beans
    12,975
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: SSL certificate blues

    Quote Originally Posted by SeijiSensei View Post
    They are usually called "wild-card certificates."
    Correct. I was too lazy to google it first.

    The multi-domain or UCC is literary for multiple different domains.

    For only subdomains, wild card certs.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    S. Plainfield, NJ
    Beans
    131
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: SSL certificate blues

    Quote Originally Posted by oboyledk View Post
    Solved.

    I just realized all my testing has been with a CA that did not include www.

    I was able to troubleshoot using these tools: (Life saver!)
    http://www.sslshopper.com/ssl-certificate-tools.html
    You can also use
    Code:
    openssl s_client -connect HOST:PORT </dev/null
    It's a godsend in troubleshooting ssl related issues.


    Can I generate a ca of *.domain.com to cover all sub domains of my site?
    Some CAs, such as Comodo will generate a wildcard certificate for you and include a Subject Alternate Name (on same certificate) of 'domain.com' if you purchase a wildcard for '*.domain.com'
    My Rig:
    * GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-DS4H | AMD Phenom X4 - 9950 (2.6 GHz) | eVGA 9800 GT (512MB) | 8GB Corsair XMS DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) RAM | 2.25 TB HDD space

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •