Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    I use a workstation.
    because it said I have a network manger I went and looked around for in and came up with this





    Does this just need to be re-configured ?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    Quote Originally Posted by The Black Night View Post
    I use a workstation.
    because it said I have a network manger I went and looked around for in and came up with this
    ...
    Does this just need to be re-configured ?
    I believe so. That is the GUI interfaces for Network-Manager.

    But before you do that, could you post the output of this
    Code:
    cat /etc/Network-Manager/nm-system-settings.conf
    This will be the configuration file for Network-Manager.
    -BAB1

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    desktop:~$ sudo cat /etc/Network-Manager/nm-system-settings.conf
    [sudo] password :
    cat: /etc/Network-Manager/nm-system-settings.conf: No such file or directory
    whats next?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    Quote Originally Posted by The Black Night View Post
    whats next?
    Somehow you have to learn to be resourceful yourself.

    I made a typo and you blindly followed. Before what's next; is: I looked myself land found the file and it is
    Code:
    /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf
    So while I mistyped it and that is a mistake. You need to be just a little self sufficient, don't you think?

    You gave me the file listing in post #7.
    -BAB1

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    Quote Originally Posted by bab1 View Post
    ... I mistyped it and that is a mistake.
    There goes your perfect record

    @OP I suspect you can add a connection via Network Manager (the ADD button), but I, too, am curious what's in /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    Quote Originally Posted by Iowan View Post
    There goes your perfect record

    ...
    Aw... Ya caught me!
    -BAB1

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    Sorry I do tend to blindly follow instruction.

    desktop:~$ sudo cat /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf
    # This file is installed into /etc/NetworkManager, and is loaded by
    # NetworkManager by default. To override, specify: '--config file'
    # during NM startup. This can be done by appending to DAEMON_OPTS in
    # the file:
    #
    # /etc/default/NetworkManager
    #

    [main]
    plugins=ifupdown,keyfile

    [ifupdown]
    managed=false

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    Quote Originally Posted by The Black Night View Post
    Sorry I do tend to blindly follow instruction.
    Okay. We got to where we need to be.

    It appears that the wired network is NOT managed by Network Manager. This means we can use the /etc/network/interfaces file for configuration.

    In looking again at the info you supplied, we have this for the interfaces (eth0 and lo)
    Code:
    -desktop:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:80:5c:7d:93
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:23 Base address:0x2000
    
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:88 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:88 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:6560 (6.5 KB) TX bytes:6560 (6.5 KB)
    And we have this for the contents of the /etc/network/interfaces file
    Code:
    ldesktop:~$ sudo cat /etc/network/interfaces
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    If you want to use DHCP to supply the IP addressing then you can the following to the bottom of the /etc/network/interfaces file
    Code:
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    What does it mean? The first line says "start the interface eth0 automatically upon bootup. The second line says "ask the dhcp server for the Ip addressing parameters.

    To edit the /etc/network/interfaces file you must be the user root. So to edit this file you need to open the file as root by using the following from the CLI
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces
    With the file open you can add the 2 lines of code and the save the file. Use the cat command to view your work (cat /etc/network/interfaces). If this looks good you can reboot the system and see what happens. You can see the configuration with this
    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    Post the output here for us to see.
    -BAB1

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    10

    Re: Network Problem (auto lo iface lo inet loopback)

    desktop:~$ ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:80:5c:7d:93
    inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::201:80ff:fe5c:7d93/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:18161 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:12475 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:24161880 (24.1 MB) TX bytes:1302859 (1.3 MB)
    Interrupt:23 Base address:0x6000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:480 (480.0 B) TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)
    I write this from my now functioning Ubuntu computer my Internet is back
    Many thanks to all and especially to bab1 for his patience

    I apologize for my short answers but I'm not a man of many words.

    sincerely

    The Black Night





Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •