Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 147

Thread: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

  1. #91
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    3

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    Quote Originally Posted by nasty000 View Post
    I've got this exact motherboard and I would love to get a working copy of Ubuntu on it. Can you elaborate "does work"?

    Does HD video play? How good?
    Any HW acceleration?
    Sadly, only 2D support. No HW video acceleration is implemented even in the current linux-next branch.

    HD/DVD/Bluray videos are not viewable. Using vlc, most lower quality videos are acceptable (eg. 700mb divx type) thanks to the cpu. Not all, though.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    Hey all, I see similar problems with the GMA3600 as with the older gma500.

    FYI: A driver is under development in the kernel and you should contact the Ubuntu kernel team, last I looked they were compiling this driver.

    FYI: There is little to no support for compiling a kernel. If you want to do so see:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Kernel/Compile

    Building and using a custom kernel will make it very difficult to get support for your system.

    While it is a learning experience to compile your own kernel, you will not be allowed to file bugs on the custom-built kernel (if you do, they will be Rejected without further explanation).
    http://***************/Tutorials/kernel

    As with the gma500, I am seeing a lot of advice being given to compile kernels without support (documentation) , without a gma3600 team, and without a ppa.

    If you are going to continue with this activity, compiling custom kernels, providing kernel modules, please form a gma3600 team similar to the gma500 team

    https://launchpad.net/~gma500

    In general we do not mind "experimental drivers", but we expect warnings to new users, documentation, and peer reviewed packages.

    These third party kernel modules outside of a ppa are not tolerated here.

    You should be filing bug reports with Launchpad or kernel.org

    I will leave this thread open for now , but if the above behavior is not corrected, it will be subject to staff review and closure.
    Last edited by bodhi.zazen; May 24th, 2012 at 01:48 PM.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    87

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    weird update on my acer d270,doesnt show hdmi monitor in displays and i cant change the resolution from 1024x600.i decided to try booting the pc with the hdmi cord plugged into the tv,to my surprise the resolution changed to 1024x768 and hdmi was working,i watched a movie yaaaa,still no resolution options but it worked so im not complaining so guys if your hdmi isnt working try booting while its plugged in,mite help,

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    6

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    You are on the right track compiling the newer version of the kernel with updated gma500 drivers, however you need a few extra pieces to get everything working. To fix the resume problem, you need to disable the default sleep script, which borks the framebuffer on resume. Open a terminal and:

    Code:
    sudo touch /etc/pm/sleep.d/99video
    To get the external ports to show so that typical screen utilities will see them, go get the code for the freedesktop xf86-modesetting driver here:

    http://xorg.freedesktop.org/archive/...g-0.2.0.tar.gz

    Extract the tarball, then open a terminal and:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get build-dep xserver-xorg-video-intel
    cd [directory where you extracted]/xf86-video-modesetting-0.2.0
    ./configure --prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install
    Almost there - now we need to update our /etc/X11/xorg.conf. You probably don't have one, so

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and copy the following settings into the file:

    Code:
    Section "Module"
    	Load  "dri"
    	Load  "dbe"
    	Load  "record"
    	Load  "extmod"
    	Load  "dri2"
    	Load  "glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            ### Available Driver options are:-
            ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
            ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
            ### <percent>: "<f>%"
            ### [arg]: arg optional
            #Option     "SWcursor"           	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "kmsdev"             	# <str>
            #Option     "ShadowFB"           	# [<bool>]
    	Identifier  "Card0"
    	Driver      "modesetting"
    	BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            ### Available Driver options are:-
            ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
            ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
            ### <percent>: "<f>%"
            ### [arg]: arg optional
            #Option     "ShadowFB"           	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "Rotate"             	# <str>
            #Option     "fbdev"              	# <str>
            #Option     "debug"              	# [<bool>]
    	Identifier  "Card1"
    	Driver      "fbdev"
    	BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            ### Available Driver options are:-
            ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
            ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
            ### <percent>: "<f>%"
            ### [arg]: arg optional
            #Option     "ShadowFB"           	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "DefaultRefresh"     	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "ModeSetClearScreen" 	# [<bool>]
    	Identifier  "Card2"
    	Driver      "vesa"
    	BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Mode  0666
    EndSection
    Reboot, and you'll be using all FOSS drivers (no hacky Meego extracts/downgrades) and everything should work almost as well as it does on ubermix (http://ubermix.org). You'll still have an issue with the internal display going black when you deactivate an external display, which you can fix with a simple vt switch (ctrl-alt-f1, alt-f7).
    Last edited by bodhi.zazen; May 27th, 2012 at 03:57 PM.

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    6

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    Brightness control isn't quite there yet, however you can work around it on some devices with

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
    then locate the line that looks like this:

    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
    and change it to this:

    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor quiet splash"
    Save, then

    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    reboot, and try your brightness controls. Doesn't work on Acer for some reason, but works on other devices.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    Quote Originally Posted by jnetman1 View Post
    To fix the resume problem, you need to disable the default sleep script, which borks the framebuffer on resume. Open a terminal and:

    Code:
    sudo touch /etc/pm/sleep.d/99video
    Wow, that helps! Thank you!

    I just got an email from Intel's developer: "I was actually reporting that problem back to canonical for pm-util script issue before. There's no need to do vbe repost as driver will ensure to reset everything. So looks like they haven't changed their script for that."

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    for ubuntu precise
    http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/vi ... 9&p=558348

    thanks to gryle,works for my he post this :
    There is a ppa repository with drivers for ubuntu 12.04 in here: http://ppa.launchpad.net/sarvatt/cedarview/ubuntu/

    I've managed to get accelerated X working in Ubuntu 12.04 with these steps:

    #Add repository in http://ppa.launchpad.net/sarvatt/cedarview/ubuntu/ :
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:sarvatt/cedarview
    sudo apt-get install add-apt-key
    sudo add-apt-key 0x4c96de60854c4636
    sudo apt-get update

    # Add video=LVDS-1:d to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT variable
    sudo vi /etc/default/grub

    # if you're using PAE kernel, remove it and install generic kernel
    sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic linux-image-generic
    sudo apt-get remove linux-headers-generic-pae linux-image-generic-pae

    sudo apt-get install cedarview-drm libva-cedarview-vaapi-driver cedarview-graphics-drivers

    #Change Option "AIGLX" to "Off" because 3D isn't working
    sudo vi /usr/share/intel-cdv/X11/xorg.conf.d/61-cdv-pvr.conf

    sudo update-grub2

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    87

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    ok not sure what i did worong but my sytem is messed up,i followd the instructions to install the new driver and now i cant access my windows7 partition,it doesnt show up in the grub,it shows up when i do a update grub but its not there and i can only boot in ubuntu in gnome no effects,with the kernel in the intstructions i cant get the graphics to work,the pc is so slow and the fonts are unreadable its in a weird resolution also,and in the kernel i was using,the mouse doesnt work and theres no graphics at all and it wont boot,how can i unistall all the stuff that was installed,so frustrated,i just want tot watch a movie on my tv via hdmi on this thing using ubuntu,now i cant access my windows either,please help

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    Quote Originally Posted by gene simmons View Post
    ok not sure what i did worong but my sytem is messed up,i followd the instructions to install the new driver and now i cant access my windows7 partition,it doesnt show up in the grub,it shows up when i do a update grub but its not there and i can only boot in ubuntu in gnome no effects,with the kernel in the intstructions i cant get the graphics to work,the pc is so slow and the fonts are unreadable its in a weird resolution also,and in the kernel i was using,the mouse doesnt work and theres no graphics at all and it wont boot,how can i unistall all the stuff that was installed,so frustrated,i just want tot watch a movie on my tv via hdmi on this thing using ubuntu,now i cant access my windows either,please help
    Hi

    It was me who wrote those instruction in the silentpcreview forum.
    Try removing the file /etc/grub.d/11_custom_cmdline and update grub again
    That file is installed by the cedarview-drm but it seems buggy
    I also changed the console from graphics to text mode on boot up . I think I did it by setting GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="" in /etc/default/grub
    I still get some crash reports from gnome-settings-daemon that seem related to xrandr. Haven't investigated that problem yet.

  10. #100

    Re: Support for Intel GMA 3600?

    Does VGA port work ?

    Is it possible to do it in 11.04 with 2.6 kernel ?

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •