Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Running a web server virtually

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by OliverHaslam View Post
    Argh, I don't have a spare


    well you can use a network location like in the list, clonezilla supports it as long as you know the parameters and location, or if not then you will need a USB device.

    Even then, i presume you have made the virtual hard disk at least the size or larger than the source image.

    You may also experience a little configuration issue such as static IP with it being a server etc.

    most of the time it is an easy thing to remedy if problems exist after cloning.

    Cheera
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by haqking View Post


    well you can use a network location like in the list, clonezilla supports it as long as you know the parameters and location, or if not then you will need a USB device.

    Even then, i presume you have made the virtual hard disk at least the size or larger than the source image.

    You may also experience a little configuration issue such as static IP with it being a server etc.

    most of the time it is an easy thing to remedy if problems exist after cloning.

    Cheera
    I'll try the network approach then. I assume I just use my normal IP/SSH settings?

    Did that list of files look right?

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by OliverHaslam View Post
    I'll try the network approach then. I assume I just use my normal IP/SSH settings?

    Did that list of files look right?
    well yeah but you will have to configure networking for clonezilla to do that.

    I cant tell you what those settings will be.

    Yes looks right, it is just the one that is highlighted
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Right, works over SSH but after finding the files I'm taken straight to a screen that wants to turn a partition into another image....

    Does the VM drive need to be a big as the old one, or as big as the data that's going on it?
    Last edited by OliverHaslam; April 4th, 2012 at 05:12 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by OliverHaslam View Post
    Right, works over SSH but after finding the files I'm taken straight to a screen that wants to turn a partition into another image....

    Does the VM drive need to be a big as the old one, or as big as the data that's going on it?
    then you made the wrong choice you need to restore from image to local.

    as for the size, i always make the HDD file the same size or larger than the source drive
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by haqking View Post
    then you made the wrong choice you need to restore from image to local.

    as for the size, i always make the HDD file the same size or larger than the source drive
    I never get an option for that...

    There's either use an image to restore or back up to, or use a disk-disk. That's it.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by OliverHaslam View Post
    I never get an option for that...

    There's either use an image to restore or back up to, or use a disk-disk. That's it.
    well yeah use an image to restore is same thing i cant remember the wording as i havent done it for a while and am not looking at it.

    are you following the documentation
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by haqking View Post
    well yeah use an image to restore is same thing i cant remember the wording as i havent done it for a while and am not looking at it.

    are you following the documentation
    You mean the documentation that says I should see this: http://clonezilla.org/clonezilla-liv...estoredisk.png and I actually see the screen that I've attached?

    After selecting the image to use via SSH, and then hitting Advanced, I get to this screen that wants to create a new image.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by OliverHaslam View Post
    You mean the documentation that says I should see this: http://clonezilla.org/clonezilla-liv...estoredisk.png and I actually see the screen that I've attached?

    After selecting the image to use via SSH, and then hitting Advanced, I get to this screen that wants to create a new image.
    I am afraid i dont know why you are getting that as i am not there to see the steps taken or look at your configuration.

    I have never had any issues with clonezilla, i am guessing it is a option choice somewhere or issue with networking.


    You will need to play around and read all the steps throughly and make the right choices.

    Cheers
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    112

    Re: Running a web server virtually

    Quote Originally Posted by haqking View Post
    I am afraid i dont know why you are getting that as i am not there to see the steps taken or look at your configuration.

    I have never had any issues with clonezilla, i am guessing it is a option choice somewhere or issue with networking.


    You will need to play around and read all the steps throughly and make the right choices.

    Cheers
    There's obviously something wrong with the clone.

    Anything other than clonezilla?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •