Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Traceroute not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bozeman Montana USA
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Traceroute not working

    Code:
    $ traceroute www.google.com
    traceroute to www.google.com (74.125.155.103), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
     1  * * *
     2  * * *
     3  * * *
     4  * * *
     5  * * *
     6  *^C
    $ traceroute6 www.google.com
    traceroute: unknown host www.google.com
    $ ping www.google.com
    PING www.l.google.com (74.125.155.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from px-in-f99.google.com (74.125.155.99): icmp_seq=1 ttl=243 time=36.1 ms
    64 bytes from px-in-f99.google.com (74.125.155.99): icmp_seq=2 ttl=243 time=69.5 ms
    64 bytes from px-in-f99.google.com (74.125.155.99): icmp_seq=3 ttl=243 time=36.5 ms
    ^C
    What am I doing wrong?
    traceroute6 didn't work, thought it might be an ipv6 issue. I installed the regular old traceroute, still doesn't work. Of course I can connect to sites fine, ssh, etc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Windows XP
    Beans
    25

    Re: Traceroute not working

    Absolutely the same problem on Jaunty.
    traceroute to www.google.com (66.102.9.147), 6 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 * * *
    2 * * *
    3 * * *
    4 * * *
    5 * * *
    6 * * *

    What's wrong here?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Beans
    94
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Traceroute not working

    Huh. Seems to work fine for me. You behind some sort of crazy firewall? Maybe try "sudo tracert google.com"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    3

    Re: Traceroute not working

    I'm getting the same problem.


    zach@zach-laptop:~$ sudo traceroute www.google.com
    traceroute to www.google.com (208.67.216.230), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 * * *
    2 * * *
    3 * * *
    4 * * *
    5 * * *
    6 *^C
    zach@zach-laptop:~$ ping www.google.com
    PING google.navigation.opendns.com (208.67.216.230) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 208.67.216.230: icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=15.1 ms
    ^C64 bytes from 208.67.216.230: icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=15.8 ms

    --- google.navigation.opendns.com ping statistics ---
    2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 5038ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 15.196/15.534/15.873/0.360 ms

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    4,714
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Traceroute not working

    I don't think there is anything wrong; it's just that some sites block traceroute requests:

    From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traceroute:

    For these reasons, while traceroute was widely unrestricted during the early days of the Internet, today many networks block traceroute requests, or de-prioritize the ICMP time exceeded message that is required to determine round trip time. However, filtering traffic except at network end-points is a controversial practice.
    An alternate method which gives traceroute-type infomation, albeit in a different form, is:
    Code:
    dig google.com +trace

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    3

    Re: Traceroute not working

    Yes it is true that some block ICMP traffic but they do not block it in the sense that they don't allow it to go through. What happens is that it will allow the traceroute to go through but will not send any information back, only astrix. But this will only happen on the one address that is blocking ICMP traffic, you will still be able to see the other hops as the traceroute goes from place to place. I also tried a trouceroute on the IP adress 4.2.2.2 which is an IP that i know I can traceroute because I am doing it from the Windows machine next to me. I have also tried on numerous adresses and names and I get the same results so something is going on.


    As for the dig command im not sure what i should be seeing but this is what happens:

    zach@zach-laptop:~$ dig www.google.com +trace

    ; <<>> DiG 9.5.1-P2 <<>> www.google.com +trace
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Received 17 bytes from 208.67.222.222#53(208.67.222.222) in 13 ms

    zach@zach-laptop:~$


    I was hoping for a list of all the hops that my packet takes to get to the specified address. Thank you for your time.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    91

    Re: Traceroute not working

    sudo traceroute -I
    Lawrence Lessig - Copyright in RW/RO culture
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=byB7nKSnFBM Freedom is worth something volunteer your time, talents and dollars. How long will it last? You decide with your support.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    27

    Question Re: Traceroute not working

    Greetings.

    I'm having a problem similar to the above, so I hope nobody minds if I re-invigorate this post.

    When I try do something similar, I get:


    /$ traceroute6 google.com
    traceroute: unknown host google.com
    dig + trace works, as does ping. I am wondering if this is something to do with my DNS server and how it is set up? I can not seem to find an IP address other than the one which only makes sense within my wifi network: 192.168....

    Do I have the right idea, or am I just completely wrong?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    5

    Re: Traceroute not working

    Quote Originally Posted by iiiears View Post
    sudo traceroute -I
    You are awesome. This works. Should be top hit on Google (it's not).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    66

    Re: Traceroute not working

    The -I switch doesn't work for me, here are my results:

    traceroute to www.google.com (74.125.237.52), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 * * *
    etc, etc, more stars
    16 * * *
    17 syd01s05-in-f20.1e100.net (74.125.237.52) 457.687 ms 458.293 ms 458.917 ms

    The only difference the -I switch made was the packet would actually get there. If I don't use it, i just get * * * forever.

    I know why the switch works, but I don't know why I'm not getting any information from the hops. I could do it in windows easy enough with tracert. Why isn't linux working? I have tried mtr and tracepath as well, and none work.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •