Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60

Thread: VirtualBox Help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Beans
    300
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    VirtualBox Help

    So I am having the same issue in reference to this posting.

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/85568...windows-7-64-b

    I checked my BIOS and the feature is enabled, and made sure I choose 64bit when creating it. Still have the same issue.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,782

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    Quote Originally Posted by bman View Post
    So I am having the same issue in reference to this posting.

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/85568...windows-7-64-b

    I checked my BIOS and the feature is enabled, and made sure I choose 64bit when creating it. Still have the same issue.

    Any ideas?
    http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch0...ro-64bitguests
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Beans
    300
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    I read that before. If you are referring to being on a 32bit OS, I am not. 64bit.

    And the second thing, pretty sure that is set. Where can I find that though?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    Is your install disk an OEM or retail disk?
    My Blog
    Ubuntu Help Pages I'm constructing: AMDGPU and AMDGPU-PRO
    Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story!
    This universe is crazy. I'm going back to my own.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Santiago (Dominican Rep)
    Beans
    311
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    Dell I have a 64 bit Dell Inspiron 1521 and have enabled the BIOS setting for virtualisation, but it does not work. Dell messed it up.
    Not all 64 bit machines support HW virtualisation and not all machine with that BIOS setting really work.

    It was confirmed when I looked on Google for "Inspiron 1521 virtualisation" Nobody has positive news. For a moment I blamed virtualbox and tried KVM, but that had the same problem.
    Last edited by BertN45; March 20th, 2012 at 01:51 AM.
    Desktop: P-IV 3.2gHz, RAM= 1.5GB, Disk=80GB+500GB, LCD=22", Bought 2012 $90
    File Server: P-III 650mHz, RAM = 384MB, Disks 240 + 300GB, Bought 2005 $60
    File Server HP Vectra VL8i SFF, 2 cables connected: Ethernet and Power

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Beans
    300
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    It's Retail.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    Good. Sometimes the OEM disks are problematic in virtual machines - besides the fact that sometimes the MS EULA forbids the use of OEM disks in virtual machines.

    How many cores do you have? Can you spare two cores for the VM while leaving some for your host?

    If so, give that a try and let us know what happens.
    My Blog
    Ubuntu Help Pages I'm constructing: AMDGPU and AMDGPU-PRO
    Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story!
    This universe is crazy. I'm going back to my own.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Beans
    13,638
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    Thread moved to Virtualization.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Beans
    300
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Windows 7.

    VT-x features locked or unavailable in MSR. (VERR_VMX_MSR_LOCKED_OR_DISABLED).

    Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
    Component: Console
    Interface: IConsole {1968b7d3-e3bf-4ceb-99e0-cb7c913317bb}

    I am getting this error now, if i put it back to 1 CPU its back to the other problem.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,782

    Re: VirtualBox Help

    Quote Originally Posted by bman View Post
    Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Windows 7.

    VT-x features locked or unavailable in MSR. (VERR_VMX_MSR_LOCKED_OR_DISABLED).

    Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
    Component: Console
    Interface: IConsole {1968b7d3-e3bf-4ceb-99e0-cb7c913317bb}

    I am getting this error now, if i put it back to 1 CPU its back to the other problem.
    you sure you have hardware vt-x turned on ?

    the check box on the acceleration tab of system which was mentioned on the link i referred you to earlier, it is required for x64
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •