Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    42

    Question Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    I'm using WINE to play World of Warcraft on a private server. Because of the way that Blizzard designed their software, an executable loader must be used to actually load the game.

    The game is installed to in ".wine/drive_c/"Program Files"/"World of Warcraft". The game was copied from my Windows partition, not officially installed, so there is no shortcut in my menus.

    If I open the folder and run the loader (which is in the main WoW folder), everything works fine. If I make a link to the loader and copy that link to my desktop - Which is the way I'd prefer to launch it - I get .NET framework errors about not being able to find the main WoW executable that the loader is looking for.

    Perhaps if I could find a way to change the "working directory" of the link?

    In WINE's registry, I have the PATH string set as "c:\windows\system32;c:\windows;c:\Program Files\World of Warcraft", which seems to be correct per WINE's documentation. But it still does not work.

    Help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Airstrip One
    Beans
    330

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    One way to do it is to create a script which, like you mention, will change directory and then execute the loader.

    Create a file in a text editor, call it wow.sh or whatever, and include this:

    cd "/home/username**/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft"
    wine loader*
    *Use the filename of the loader program.
    **Replace with your own username.

    After creating your script, you need to give it executable permission, which can be done by right clicking the file and accessing its properties.

    Let me know if you need more detailed instructions.
    Last edited by Nytram; March 24th, 2012 at 04:25 PM. Reason: Mistakes corrected.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    Thread moved to Wine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    42

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nytram View Post
    One way to do it is to create a script which, like you mention, will change directory and then execute the loader.

    Create a file in a text editor, call it wow.sh or whatever, and include this:



    *Use the filename of the loader program.

    After creating your script, you need to give it executable permission, which can be done by right clicking the file and accessing its properties.

    Let me know if you need more detailed instructions.

    That's an excellent idea.

    I tried a script as you suggest, but got the same .NET framework error about not being able to find the main WoW executable. However, if I open a terminal window and type out both lines exactly as they appear in the script - It works!

    I'm confused.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    42

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    Quote Originally Posted by forestpiskie View Post
    Thread moved to Wine.
    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    326
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    Hello, SweetBearCub.
    I tried a script as you suggest,
    Could you be bothered to post the exact content of your script, please.

    but got the same .NET framework error about not being able to find the main WoW executable.
    Could you be bothere to post the exact error message which is displayed, please.

    However, if I open a terminal window and type out both lines exactly as they appear in the script - It works!
    This suggests that you have not granted execute permissions to your script?!
    Cf. Nytram's advice given before
    After creating your script, you need to give it executable permission, which can be done by right clicking the file and accessing its properties.
    Kind regards,
    Karl
    Enlightened by Lucid Lynx, enchanted by Maya Mint, trusting the Tahr.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Airstrip One
    Beans
    330

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    Doh my mistake, it's necessary to give the absolute path for the cd command.

    cd "/home/username**/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft"
    wine loader*
    *Use the filename of the loader program.
    **Replace with your own username.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    42

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nytram View Post
    Doh my mistake, it's necessary to give the absolute path for the cd command.



    *Use the filename of the loader program.
    **Replace with your own username.
    Yes!

    Adding the absolute path made it work! Thank you!

    But why would that be so, when the previous commands worked fine when typed into the terminal in my home folder? That makes no sense to me.

    Also, is it possible to suppress the 'Run in Terminal', 'Display', 'Cancel, and 'Run' options (while defaulting to run), and to give it the link the icon out of the World of Warcraft executable?

  9. #9
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    note that wine path are written with some custom rules: to get the good writing, use the Tab key to complete the path to be sure about slash, double slash, space, %, \, ....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    326
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Simple WINE issue - Can someone help? PATH var issues?

    Hello, SweetBearCub.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nytram
    cd "/home/username**/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft"
    wine loader*
    Quote Originally Posted by SweetBearCub
    Adding the absolute path made it work! [...]
    But why would that be so, when the previous commands worked fine when typed into the terminal in my home folder? That makes no sense to me.
    Pretty simple:

    You launch the gnome-terminal. By default, it will open and your current path will be your home folder. Let us assume the home folder is /home/SweetBearCub.
    Now you use the command
    Code:
    cd ".wine/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft"
    et voilà, you are in the right folder.

    Yet, when you launch the script from some random folder the only way of making sure that you go to the right folder is by using the absolute pathname.

    Current path: /home/SweatBearClub
    Command: cd ".wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft"
    Result: works

    Current path: /tmp
    Command: cd ".wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft"
    Result: does not work
    Reason: The target does not exist inside /tmp.

    Current path: /tmp
    Command: cd "/home/SweatBearClub/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft"
    Result: works

    Kind regards,
    Karl
    Enlightened by Lucid Lynx, enchanted by Maya Mint, trusting the Tahr.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •