Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Laptop Freezing EVERYTIME

Beans

Laptop Freezing EVERYTIME

Im kinda new to ubuntu, so...
    Yeah, I got an old laptop ( bout 7 years ) from my uncle. It originaly had windows XP on it, and was EXTREMELY slow, and freezed all the time. Well, then i got UBUNTU 10.04 (lucid lynx) installed on it, with no problems. Until I tryed to update it. Freezed at the first 30%, just like it did in windows:mouse dint move, no animations, nothing. Just solid screen, frozen. I could wait 3 hours, nothing happened. That freeze dindt happen when I wasn't using the laptop: only on internet apps, VIDEOS, games and stuff like that. Sometimes even when using only Firefox. I tryed reinstalling ubuntu so many times...
    Then, one of those times, the laptop actually worked. With no freeze for like a week. Then, it froze when i tryed running Ace of Spades on it. After that first freezn, it started to freeze every 5 minutes again.
    Please, HELP"

winh8r is offline Iced Almond Soy Ubuntu, No Foam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Laptop Freezing EVERYTIME

Best thing to do is post details of the make and model of the laptop.

how much ram does it have?

what graphics card does it use?

Will it boot and run normally using a LIVE CD?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate Development Release

Sorry, but a laptop that is
    EXTREMELY slow
    in WinXP and also froze a lot, is likely to be even SLOWER using any 11.x version of Ubuntu, primarily due to the demands of the Unity desktop.

Also, freezing could be a symptom of a failing drive (i.e., lots of bad sectors) and that is not going to improve in Linux.

Laptop specs will help at least determine if it COULD run OK using Ubuntu 11.x.
    Ubuntu 20.04, Mint 19.10; MS Win10 Pro.
    Will not respond to PM requests for support -- use the forums.

Beans