Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    5

    Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    Hi there!

    I'm having a bizarre issue with my HP Proliant DL 360 G4p server. It has two gigabit ethernet interfaces but I can bring up only one of them. This is starting to freak me out and that's why I turned here. I'm running the x64 ubuntu 11.10 server edition.

    lshw -c network shows that the second interface is disabled. I have no idea why ans how to enable it.

    Code:
    mstaessen@mist-server:~$ sudo lshw -c network
      *-network:0
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: NetXtreme BCM5704 Gigabit Ethernet
           vendor: Broadcom Corporation
           physical id: 2
           bus info: pci@0000:02:02.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 10
           serial: 00:18:71:e3:6d:26
           size: 100Mbit/s
           capacity: 1Gbit/s
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 66MHz
           capabilities: pcix pm vpd msi bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=tg3 driverversion=3.119 duplex=full firmware=5704-v3.27b, ASFIPMIc v2.36 ip=10.48.8.71 latency=64 link=yes mingnt=64 multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100Mbit/s
           resources: irq:25 memory:fdf70000-fdf7ffff
      *-network:1 DISABLED
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: NetXtreme BCM5704 Gigabit Ethernet
           vendor: Broadcom Corporation
           physical id: 2.1
           bus info: pci@0000:02:02.1
           logical name: eth1
           version: 10
           serial: 00:18:71:e3:6d:25
           capacity: 1Gbit/s
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 66MHz
           capabilities: pcix pm vpd msi bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=tg3 driverversion=3.119 firmware=5704-v3.27b latency=64 link=no mingnt=64 multicast=yes port=twisted pair
           resources: irq:26 memory:fdf60000-fdf6ffff
    If I try to ifup eth1, then I get
    Code:
    mstaessen@mist-server:~$ sudo ifup eth1
    Ignoring unknown interface eth1=eth1.
    I figured that's what happens when there is no eth1 listed in /etc/network/interfaces. But when I add the configuration for eth1, I still can't ifup.

    Code:
    mstaessen@mist-server:~$ sudo ifup eth1
    RTNETLINK answers: File exists
    Failed to bring up eth1.
    I've also tried ifconfig eth1 up but without any result.

    I really need some help fixing this. It's driving me crazy. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    new york state
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    Could we see a
    Code:
    dmesg | grep tg3
    thanks
    Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Great men are almost always bad men, even when they exercise influence and not authority

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    Sure,

    Code:
     dmesg | grep tg3
    [    1.124039] tg3.c:v3.119 (May 18, 2011)
    [    1.124093] tg3 0000:02:02.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 25 (level, low) -> IRQ 25
    [    1.186281] tg3 0000:02:02.0: eth0: Tigon3 [partno(349321-001) rev 2100] (PCIX:66MHz:64-bit) MAC address XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    [    1.186287] tg3 0000:02:02.0: eth0: attached PHY is 5704 (10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet) (WireSpeed[1], EEE[0])
    [    1.186291] tg3 0000:02:02.0: eth0: RXcsums[1] LinkChgREG[0] MIirq[0] ASF[1] TSOcap[1]
    [    1.186295] tg3 0000:02:02.0: eth0: dma_rwctrl[769f0000] dma_mask[64-bit]
    [    1.186365] tg3 0000:02:02.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 26 (level, low) -> IRQ 26
    [    1.298549] tg3 0000:02:02.1: eth1: Tigon3 [partno(349321-001) rev 2100] (PCIX:66MHz:64-bit) MAC address XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    [    1.298554] tg3 0000:02:02.1: eth1: attached PHY is 5704 (10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet) (WireSpeed[1], EEE[0])
    [    1.298557] tg3 0000:02:02.1: eth1: RXcsums[1] LinkChgREG[0] MIirq[0] ASF[0] TSOcap[1]
    [    1.298561] tg3 0000:02:02.1: eth1: dma_rwctrl[769f0000] dma_mask[64-bit]
    [   11.528132] tg3 0000:02:02.0: eth0: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex
    [   11.528139] tg3 0000:02:02.0: eth0: Flow control is off for TX and off for RX
    [ 1030.336007] tg3 0000:02:02.1: eth1: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex
    [ 1030.336014] tg3 0000:02:02.1: eth1: Flow control is off for TX and off for RX
    Apologies for the slow response
    Last edited by sffvba[e0rt; March 10th, 2012 at 06:44 PM. Reason: removed mac address

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    new york state
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    could we see a
    Code:
    lsmod
    thanks
    Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Great men are almost always bad men, even when they exercise influence and not authority

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    Whatever helps me solve this mystery

    Code:
    $ lsmod
    Module                  Size  Used by
    vesafb                 13809  1
    psmouse                73882  0
    hpilo                  17399  0
    serio_raw              13166  0
    shpchp                 37345  0
    e752x_edac             18564  0
    edac_core              53746  1 e752x_edac
    lp                     17799  0
    parport                46562  1 lp
    tg3                   147729  0
    cciss                 110804  3
    floppy                 70365  0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    new york state
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    Ok so this is what I am seeing you have to cards that run off the same driver. they could be getting in the way of each other but I am not sure you could try to unplug the ethernet cable then rmmod tg3 then plug in ethernet cable into 2nd port and then modprobe tg3 then try to bring it up. If that dont work I am out of ideas I hope you get it sorted.
    Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Great men are almost always bad men, even when they exercise influence and not authority

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    Didn't work. Tried to replace the driver (tg3-3.119) with the one from the broadcom website (tg3-3.122g) but without result.

    If I bring down eth0 and then bring up eth1 (which works then), the 'DISABLED' disappears, but I get the RTNETLINK answer when bringing up eth0.

    The driver is somehow preventing use of both NIC ports... very annoying

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Can only bring up one of two network interfaces

    I found the solution. There were two gateways defined in /etc/network/interfaces while you simple can't have more then one gateway. It actually makes no sense either.

    If you would have two gateways, your routing table would have a double entry for dest 0.0.0.0. The double route is what causes the RTNETLINK answer "File exists", meaning there is already a route for 0.0.0.0.

    I've commented out one of the gateways and now I can ifup both eth0 and eth1.

    Now I only need another route for the traffic on the internal interface.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •