Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Give users Read, Modify but not delete on Samba server

Beans

Give users Read, Modify but not delete on Samba server

guys i need your help and i really appreciate it.

i am a windows system administrator and lately my manager want me to change the system to Unix.

i still studding and reading, what i really need is exactly this case i need to configure my Samba server permissions to allow read,write but not delete for a group or user.

[[ i am configuring a file server ]]
    i need this option for groups so users can access the departments files and modify them and get the data they need but not to delete this files

The scenario i am trying to build is
    client X [read,modify but not delete files or subfolders]
    Group X [read,modify but not delete files or sub folder]
    root[read,modify and delete] i think this is the normal case for the root

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: I Need to give users Read, Modify but not delete on Samba server [[ help plz ]]

I think 'modify' and 'delete' may fall under the same permissions. If someone can modify a file, then they can modify the contents of a file to nothing.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: I Need to give users Read, Modify but not delete on Samba server [[ help plz ]]

Quote Originally Posted by emiller12345 View Post
    I think 'modify' and 'delete' may fall under the same permissions. If someone can modify a file, then they can modify the contents of a file to nothing.
    I think that's how it works too.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    I think that's how it works too.