Thread: Building an Ubuntu-based network

Beans

Building an Ubuntu-based network

Hi there, I'm new to the Ubuntu forums and Ubuntu in general. I'm the volunteer system administrator for a church in the Midwest USA. I've been placed in charge of implementing a project to put computers in classrooms to modernize our child education program. I am a Linux user (openSUSE) at my home desktop PC so I am familiar with desktop Linux and the advantages over proprietary operating system solutions that would be rather expensive to purchase and manage.

The project calls for about 12 laptops placed in the various classrooms and larger gathering areas, connected to the Internet via a wireless network to display content on LCD televisions in the classrooms and projectors in the larger rooms. The primary purpose of the client PCs is to enable the educators to display streaming video and other content from the Internet and a local file server.

I was attracted to Ubuntu in particular due to the well-established community, commercial support options, and the LTS releases. I was originally planning on using Kubuntu on the clients, but because of the recent announcement of Canonical's ending support for Kubuntu, I've decided on Xubuntu. The educators are computer (Windows) literate but I think Unity would be a rather uncomfortable change for them and Xfce would be less of a change.

As my background is in Windows, I need some help accomplishing the project's goals using Linux, please forgive my analogies to Microsoft's systems.

• On the clients, I need to remove some packages such as the games, and install others, such as Chromium and XBMC.
    • Users, mostly educators, should have their own user profiles, which I presume would be provided by LDAP on the server.
    • The server needs to provide file sharing, through NFS or SAMBA. The shares need permissions based on groups: A second-grade teacher should not have access to the same resources as a sixth grade teacher for example.