Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Strange ram question

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    1,090
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Strange ram question

    Quote Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post
    Hooray for you?



    Meh, you can be dumb with your own equipment. Just so long as you realize you're being dumb, that's what really matters.
    Give me 1 example of a major public facing webserver that doesn't have one.
    Here in linux-land we're all free to make our own decisions.
    And keep in mind that i build all my pc's from parts i got for free.
    I'm happy, and i'm gonna ignore your comments on my setup as they don't have anything to do with the thread-subject.
    "Everything that has a beginning, has an end." --an unexpectedly wise wallpaper

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    1,941

    Re: Strange ram question

    Quote Originally Posted by roelforg View Post
    Give me 1 example of a major public facing webserver that doesn't have one.
    Here in linux-land we're all free to make our own decisions.
    And keep in mind that i build all my pc's from parts i got for free.
    I'm happy, and i'm gonna ignore your comments on my setup as they don't have anything to do with the thread-subject.
    You think public facing webservers have DE's?

    You're kidding yourself. Some might have a control panel that's web-based, but that's a far cry from a DE...

    None of our webservers have DE's. Most don't even have webUI control panels.

    Of course you can make your own decisions, I already stated that the way you did it was much better than the OP's. Blindly installing ubuntu-desktop is a complete waste.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    1,090
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Strange ram question

    Quote Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post
    You think public facing webservers have DE's?

    You're kidding yourself. Some might have a control panel that's web-based, but that's a far cry from a DE...

    None of our webservers have DE's. Most don't even have webUI control panels.

    Of course you can make your own decisions, I already stated that the way you did it was much better than the OP's. Blindly installing ubuntu-desktop is a complete waste.
    May i note i was referring to your comment on me enabeling the root account?

    And thanks, for that complement about me DE.
    "Everything that has a beginning, has an end." --an unexpectedly wise wallpaper

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    7,745

    Re: Strange ram question

    Enabling root account is fine, we just aren't allowed to post how-to tutorials here on ubuntuforums.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    1,090
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Strange ram question

    Quote Originally Posted by snowpine View Post
    Enabling root account is fine, we just aren't allowed to post how-to tutorials here on ubuntuforums.
    I know, i use a customized install disk for that, used kickstart to have it setup accounts/hd/etc.
    But can we pleaaaaseeeee get back on subject?
    "Everything that has a beginning, has an end." --an unexpectedly wise wallpaper

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    1,941

    Re: Strange ram question

    Quote Originally Posted by roelforg View Post
    But can we pleaaaaseeeee get back on subject?
    OP hasn't posted back in a while. How is your rig OP? It really sounds like you need more RAM. Many have already stated, if you have an application that you know requires 10gb+ of RAM, install more RAM!

    Good luck.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •