Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: update errors

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    17,059
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: update errors

    Quote Originally Posted by Malcy View Post
    The output for sudo apt-get purge php5-cli is

    And from sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
    Lets make sure you have this package installed as it includes basename.

    Code:
    apt-cache policy coreutils

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire. UK
    Beans
    74
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: update errors

    That package seems to be there.

    coreutils:
    Installed: 8.5-1ubuntu6
    Candidate: 8.5-1ubuntu6
    Version table:
    *** 8.5-1ubuntu6 0
    500 http://gb.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ oneiric/main amd64 Packages
    100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    17,059
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: update errors

    Quote Originally Posted by Malcy View Post
    That package seems to be there.
    Have you been playing with scripts cos something messed in your system.

    Try this in a terminal.

    Code:
    basename /usr/bin/sort
    It should just return sort as the output.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire. UK
    Beans
    74
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: update errors

    No, I haven't been playing with scripts or anything exotic. I did have backports enabled for some reason but it is not now.

    Here is the output

    The program 'basename' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
    sudo apt-get install coreutils
    I tried sudo apt-get install coreutils but it was no help.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    17,059
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: update errors

    Quote Originally Posted by Malcy View Post
    No, I haven't been playing with scripts or anything exotic. I did have backports enabled for some reason but it is not now.

    Here is the output
    The program 'basename' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
    sudo apt-get install coreutils
    I tried sudo apt-get install coreutils but it was no help.
    This is why you are getting errors regarding basename as the system cant find it. You've done something to cause a script redirect or something. So when the system looks for basename it cant find it.

    You could try reinstalling coreutils. After that I cant help. Someone else might though.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install --reinstall coreutils

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lancashire. UK
    Beans
    74
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: update errors

    That did it, everything looks fine now.

    Thank you very much for spending the time sorting this out for me.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    17,059
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: update errors

    Quote Originally Posted by Malcy View Post
    That did it, everything looks fine now.

    Thank you very much for spending the time sorting this out for me.
    Nice one. You can reinstall that php app now.

    I did find one other thing to try for this situation.

    Code:
    which basename
    should have returned
    /usr/bin/basename

    I wonder where yours was lol.

    Dont forget to marked this as Solved.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •