Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Netbook setting up advice

Beans

Netbook setting up advice

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner to Linux has recently decided to learn through Ubuntu on my new Acer Aspire One AO722 netbook. I want to install it as a dual-boot alongside Windows 7 Home Premium and need some help with the partitions.

1. Can I partition the hard drive using a bootable USB Ubuntu installer? If not, how would I go about doing so without a disc-tray?

2. Through the threads I've read, many mention a "Home" or "Personal Data" partition alongside Windows and Ubuntu system partitions. How does this partition work and how is it accessible to the operating systems?

3. I also read about a "Swap" partition. Can someone elaborate on that?

4. Finally, how should I partition the 500GB drive? I plan to keep Windows since I need Office for schoolwork and some other multimedia programs so I don't want to completely cripple the Windows part of the machine.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Netbook setting up advice

1) Yes you can partition the drive via a USB Live Ubuntu session, just launch gparted from within the Live sessionn and you can many any changes you need to to the hard drive.

2) If you set up a home partition at /home then if you ever need to reinstall over the root partition / then you wont lose or have to recopy your personal data kept in your home partition, if this partition is a ext2, ext3, ext4 or really any format other than ntfs or fat16 fat32, then windows will not recognize it, as windows does not like to acknowledge partitions that are outside of its known formats.