Thread: Installation Issue, :'( Help!!

Beans

Installation Issue, :'( Help!!

Okay, so I have to use ubuntu 11.10 because my Window's is messed up, I have been using safe mode with networking for the past several months. I tried ubuntu yesterday, installed it easily using wubi, no problems. I thought it was great, superior to Windows. Well, today, I decided I wanted to try out kubuntu. So I get back on windows safe mode, and download kubuntu 11.10, and try it out. Well, then I got this thing (see picture). This is my second time installing a Ubuntu type software, and this command line thing pops up, it starts off being that first small paragraph only its large, then the ubuntu logo comes up with dots under it loading screen with purple backdrop. Then it goes back to the command prompt with smaller font. After a few seconds.. it comes to the picture with the rest of the text. I can't get past this part of the installation. I cannot install kubuntu. The same thing happened with Ubuntu when I tried to go back to it. I cannot use a cd because my computer doesn't have an optical drive. How do I fix this? My problem is I can't install anything, it all comes to that screen, where it stops.
    *I use to have the Motorola Droid, and I would switch Roms everyday, this is kinda like that to me.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Installation Issue, :'( Help!!

Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums,

I guess you have downloaded the iso files for Ubuntu and Kubuntu. If you have no CD drive, you can make a USB boot drive. There are several tools for that. I have good experience with Unetbootin, a small program, that you can download to Windows (or [k]ubuntu, when you have it running). Use Unetbootin to make a boot USB drive of a USB flash drive 'stick or pen-drive'!