Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help with RAID configuration

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Help with RAID configuration

    Hey Ubuntu Forums, long time no see.
    So i'm trying to set up a RAID, but i'm a bit inexperienced and i'm not sure if the configuration i want to achieve is possible. I was hoping someone more knowledgeable could point me in the right direction.

    I have one 2TB and two 1TB drives that i would like to configure in such a way that would be equivalent to two 2TB drives in RAID0.

    My MSI K8N Neo2 motherboard has an onboard raid thing, this is what the website says about it:

    • NV RAID (Software)
    • Supports up to 4 SATA & 2 ATA133 Hard drives
    - RAID O or 1, 0+1, JBOD is supported
    - RAID function work w/ATA133 + SATA H/D or 2 SATA H/D

    Thank you :3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mataro, Spain
    Beans
    13,450
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Help with RAID configuration

    You can't use RAID0 with 3 disks. It has to be even number, like 2, 4, 6, etc.

    And are you sure you want to use raid0 at all? Your data is not protected in raid0, if one disk fails, everything is gone.

    What are you trying to achieve?

    PS. Also, do you plan to dual boot with windows or only ubuntu? For dual boot the options are more limited.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Help with RAID configuration

    Thanks for the reply. Sorry, I meant to say RAID1. I want all my files on the 2TB to be automatically repeated on the two 1TBs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Help with RAID configuration

    Also I have a 500GB drive that I can use to store the filesystem, if that's needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    241

    Re: Help with RAID configuration

    Yea you can do that. For instance:
    You can create RAID0 on two 1GB drives and RAID1 on 2 GB drive + previously created 2 GB RAID0.
    Forget the motherboard "RAID", it's fake. Use mdadm.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mataro, Spain
    Beans
    13,450
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Help with RAID configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by Buntumatic View Post
    Yea you can do that. For instance:
    You can create RAID0 on two 1GB drives and RAID1 on 2 GB drive + previously created 2 GB RAID0.
    Forget the motherboard "RAID", it's fake. Use mdadm.
    Would this be a better option or creating two equal partitions on the 2TB disk and two separate raid1 arrays using these partitions and each of the 1TB disks?
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Help with RAID configuration

    Ok, thanks :3 RAID1( RAID0(1 TB, 1TB), 2TB ) (if that makes any sense) sounds good. How do I do that? :S

    The nVidia raid thing didn't look like it supported stacking raids like that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •