Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to move /home or atleast doc., music, pic., etc.

Beans

Question How to move /home or atleast doc., music, pic., etc.

OK, let me begin by saying that I am a complete newbie to Ubuntu.

Background: I am running Ubuntu 11.10 64-bit. I am dual booting with Windows 7. I have three partitions on my hard drive. The first one (/dev/sda1) is where I have Windows 7. Then on the second on (/dev/sda2) I have it labled "Storage" where I want to share files such as my pictures or documents between to the two OS's. And on the 3rd (/deva/sda3) I have sda5 and sda6. Sda5 has the files for Ubuntu and sda6 is Linux swap.

Problem: As mentioned earlier, I want to share files on my partition marked "Storage" on /dev/sda2. It is formatted NTFS. I was wondering how to move /home/max/Documents, /home/max/Pictures, /home/max/Downloads, /home/max/Videos, and /home/max/Music to /media/Storage/.

If I am not being clear enough let me know and I will do my best to try and explain myself. Thank you so much for the help in advance.

Beans

Re: How to move /home or atleast doc., music, pic., etc.

your best option would be soft links:
    to make /media/hd/home the new home folder
    # mv /home /media/hd/home DO NOT continue unless this step succeeds as you will lose everything
    # rm -r /home
    # ln -s /media/hd/home /home
    Even if I did have a super cool and unique signature, you don't think I would be dumb enough to put it here where you could steel it do you.

Beans

Is the /media/Storage partition mounted automatically when you boot? In other words do you have an entry in /etc/fstab for that partition?

If you do then I would use "bind". Try the following as an experiment to illustrate what I mean:

[1] Create a "test" directory in your home folder
    Code:
    mkdir /home/max/Test
    [2] Create an identical folder in your "Storage" partition
    Code:
     mkdir /media/Storage/Test
    [3] Bind the two together ( temporarily ):
    Code: