Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: toshiba nb505 wifi not working

Beans

toshiba nb505 wifi not working

Hi I'm new to Linux running Ubuntu 10.04 on my netbook. I followed this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1687719 to initially get the wifi up and running however the wifi stopped working after an update. What should I do to solve this problem ?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: toshiba nb505 wifi not working

Go through the steps in post #4 on your link again.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Bucky Ball View Post
    Go through the steps in post #4 on your link again.
    I followed the steps in post # 4 but the wifi still seems to not work. I get the output :
    rtl8192ce-dkms is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 1 not upgraded

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Oh, okay. Open a terminal and try this:

Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    Then;

Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    This will not upgrade your Ubuntu release but all packages it is using. You need to get online with a cable to get this working. You might also then look in System>Admin>Additional Drivers

Beans

Oh, okay. Open a terminal and try this:

Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    Then;

Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    This will not upgrade your Ubuntu release but all packages it is using. You need to get online with a cable to get this working. You might also then look in System>Admin>Additional Drivers
    I did a upgrade but still nothing. When I go to the drivers option I get a reading of:

Linux driver for Realtek RTL819x WiFi cards

the driver is activated but not currently in use

Is this the problem ? All I have to do is activate the driver ?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Yep. Try de-activating it then switching it on again. Watch for any error messages that may appear and let us know (unless it works, that is).

Beans