Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: minimum system for xterm

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    6

    minimum system for xterm

    I am trying to test some Java software on a minimal Ubuntu system - no gui - just a bare terminal linux system in Ubuntu 13.04 on an old computer.
    The software uses Swing, and so I need an x-terminal (apparently). I have installed xterm, xorg and openbox
    After export DISPLAY=0:0
    and xterm the message "Can't open display 0:0" appears

    1. Am I missing some software?
    2. Is there some technical information someone could point me to, suitable for a non-specialist?

    David Butland
    Last edited by David Butland; May 30th, 2013 at 05:46 AM. Reason: Thanks to those who helped

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    3,037
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    Did you install the appropriate graphics drivers? Is Openbox working? Whats in /var/log/Xorg.0.log?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,485

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    Quote Originally Posted by David Butland View Post
    I am trying to test some Java software on a minimal Ubuntu system - no gui - just a bare terminal linux system in Ubuntu 13.04 on an old computer.
    The software uses Swing, and so I need an x-terminal (apparently). I have installed xterm, xorg and openbox
    After export DISPLAY=0:0
    and xterm the message "Can't open display 0:0" appears

    1. Am I missing some software?
    2. Is there some technical information someone could point me to, suitable for a non-specialist?

    David Butland
    So apparantly the Java software wants to open a GUI. The export DISPLAY is exporting to the local, so non-GUI system. That's not going to work.

    So: where do you want to show the GUI of the Java software?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    Thanks for your prompt replies. I missed them, expecting to get an email notification that anyone had offered to help.
    You must understand that my expectations of what can be achieved are as high as my ignorance of what else has to happen.

    2F4U asked whether I had installed the appropriate graphics drivers. Not explicitly. I apparently successfully entered:
    sudo apt-get install openbox
    and
    sudo apt-get install xorg
    I have not tested whether these commands have set up an appropriate environment.
    There is no /var/log/Xorg.0.log file.
    And yes, sanderj, I am blissfully expecting to be able to generate some graphics output without a gui. I reason that a gui can create windows, so why not me? That may be unrealistic. I just want the minimum environment in which to test so0me graphics output.
    I will keep looking for replies to this post, but is there an option to be notified if someone has offered to help?

    David Butland

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tāmaki Makau-rau, NZ
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    Have you actually started the X server? To do that, enter the command "startx" after logging in. The Xorg.0.conf file should be created automatically. It shouldn't be necessary to set special environment variables.
    Please, people, remember to BACKUP before you install that new system. Same if you're upgrading.

    Ubuntu membership via Forums contributions

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    7,009

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    I think you actually need to start an X server for your xterm to connect to, usually that would be done via the 'startx' command, which starts an X server based on a bunch of default stuff in /etc/X11 and then executes the user's session as defined via .xinitrc and/or .Xsession

    So maybe try creating a minimal ~/.xinitrc file, something like

    Code:
    # Load X resources (if any)
    if [ -e "$HOME/.Xresources" ]
    then
            xrdb "$HOME/.Xresources"
    fi
    
    xsetroot -solid "#DAB082"
    x-terminal-emulator -geometry "80x24+10+10" -ls -title " Desktop" &
    x-window-manager &
    or try openbox and fall back to a plain default WM if unavailable

    Code:
    # Load X resources (if any)
    if [ -e "$HOME/.Xresources" ]
    then
            xrdb "$HOME/.Xresources"
    fi
    
    if which openbox-session >/dev/null
    then
            openbox-session & 
    else
            xsetroot -solid "#DAB082"
            x-terminal-emulator -geometry "80x24+10+10" -ls -title " Desktop" &
            x-window-manager &
    fi
    and then executing 'startx' from the command line?

    See --> https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CustomXSession

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    Thanks for your prompt replies. I missed them, expecting to get an email notification that anyone had offered to help.
    You must understand that my expectations of what can be achieved are as high as my ignorance of what else has to happen.

    2F4U asked whether I had installed the appropriate graphics drivers. Not explicitly. I apparently successfully entered:
    sudo apt-get install openbox
    and
    sudo apt-get install xorg
    I have not tested whether these commands have set up an appropriate environment.
    There is no /var/log/Xorg.0.log file.
    And yes, sanderj, I am blissfully expecting to be able to generate some graphics output without a gui. I reason that a gui can create windows, so why not me? That may be unrealistic. I just want the minimum environment in which to test so0me graphics output.
    I will keep looking for replies to this post, but is there an option to be notified if someone has offered to help?

    David Butland

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    You are all terrific guys.
    I tried "startx" after logging in. A lot of things scrolled past, and I now have a lighter coloured full screen which does not appear to accept input. I will wait for a bit to see whether anything develops.
    If all else fails I'll try the magic suggested by steeldriver. Will post a report later.

    David

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tāmaki Makau-rau, NZ
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    Right-click on that lighter screen and you'll get a menu.
    Please, people, remember to BACKUP before you install that new system. Same if you're upgrading.

    Ubuntu membership via Forums contributions

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    6

    Re: minimum system for xterm

    Yippee!!
    Are you really only 2 years old?
    That is amazing. You and I would make a wonderful team.
    All problems solved.
    Well, apart from world peace and brotherhood.
    David

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •