Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: gedit, emacs or vi what should I be editing stuff with

Beans

gedit, emacs or vi what should I be editing stuff with

Hi,

I've been fiddling with Ubuntu for a few weeks now and it's obvious that understanding the command line is essential. I have therefore purchased some books on bash and am slowly making my way through them and have picked up a lot of stuff.

The editing I've been doing while following the texts has been with gedit, but the books are starting to talk about using emacs or vi to edit the command line.

I realize they are both full of key sequences to do stuff, and so will take some dedicated effort to learn, while gedit seems pretty straight forward to use.

I'm a little confused over what program I should be using to edit scripts with and should I take the time to learn emacs or vi if I'm planning to do a little scripting in bash or even c++ etc.

I'm an absolute beginner and am looking for advice on what I should be using, so any tips would be appreciated.

SNIFFY

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: gedit, emacs or vi what should I be editing stuff with

Its really down to personal choice, but if you are planning to learn about Ubuntu rather than just using it, I would recommend that you do take a little time out to learn one non GUI text editor. You never know when it will come in handy if something breaks. I tend to just stick to Nano, but as I say its all about choice.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

nothing wrong with gedit, but it is good to be familiar with either vi(m) or emacs (or nano) for the times you might lose your front end and you wanna edit config files.

edit: beaten again

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

You should take a look at "sed" too if your are planning on getting serious with shell programming.
    I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones.