Thread: synaptiks will not auto start at login

Beans

synaptiks will not auto start at login

Hi, I've trawled the forum, but couldn't find any help for this specific problem.

I'm using Ubuntu Lucid Lynx on a Dell Studio 1735 laptop. I prefer to use a mouse, and therefore I'd like to disable the touch-pad entirely.

I installed Synaptiks, and it does what I need, but it will not save the settings, meaning every time I boot up, I have to run Synaptiks manually, in order to turn the touch-pad off, which is getting rather irritating.
    The settings are all ticked in Synaptiks, so I don't know why it won't run after login.

Whenever I try and run Synaptiks, I always have to click on it twice, in order for the program to start, plus the icon for the program is just a blank icon, not sure if that's right?

Any help, or alternative methods for disabling touch-pad, appreciated. Please bear in mind, I'm a Linux noob though!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: synaptiks will not auto start at login

I'm having the same problem with Synaptiks - it won't save my settings and it won't start at login. It's also crashing several times a day!

Beans

Hello!

I had exactly the same problem as you. I had to click twice and the changes dissapeared when I reboot.

I fixed it doing this:

1.- Open Synaptiks as you usually do (click twice)
    2.- Change the settings the way you want and then click apply (and then yes)
    3.- Close it
    4.- Open a terminal and execute: syntaptikscfg save
    5.- Go to System > Startup applications (or look for it in start menu)
    6.- You will see Synaptikscfg init, well, BEFORE it, create a new row. In command, type this: synaptikscfg load
    7.- Reboot
    8.- ....
    9.- Profit!

It works with me, I hope it helps!

Beans

Hi Xapu69, thanks for your help, but it's still not working for me.