Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Can't Browse Network

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    122

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    Thank you Boss. It worked. First time I edited the config file, it wasn't saved (my bad).
    Now, could you tell me why do I need to hard-code the name of the server?
    I want Ubuntu to discover ANY and ALL the machines on my network automatically. Is there a way to accomplish that, where I don't have to hardcode it.

    Thanks again

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    Quote Originally Posted by BHEJU View Post
    Thank you Boss. It worked. First time I edited the config file, it wasn't saved (my bad).
    Don't ya just hate that. I'm paranoid and double check if I don't get the results I expected. LOL.
    Now, could you tell me why do I need to hard-code the name of the server?
    Well now, first you have to understand that a host that is running Samba server actually has 2 names. The machine should have a hostname for normal Linux functions. This name is defined in the /etc/hostname file. This is the name you see in the default prompt (e.g. @hostname). If this is configured correctly then Samba converts this to a NETBIOS NAME. This is because Samba ultimately uses NETBIOS NAMES to browse shares. Why? Because this is how Windows SMB/CIFS works and Samba needs to integrate with Windows.

    The current Samba package (Debian/Ubuntu) is installed expecting that there already is a functioning LAN nameservice. Unfortunately most home and SOHO installs do NOT use LAN side DNS. This means you a need to either: a) install and/or configure LAN side DNS or: b) explicitly provide the Samba server with a NETBIOS name. When you provide the host with a NETBIOS name you need to provide a method to announce this host's presence on the network (when you boot up). This needs to be via bcast (broadcast) as the only other option would be via host (which is DNS), therefore you need to set the name resolve order to: bcast first. The host parameter does nothing, but if I leave it out forum users become worried so I just tell 'em to put it in after bcast.

    That's it in a nutshell. There certainly is more subtleties, but that would require a much longer response. As you have already seen, it works.
    I want Ubuntu to discover ANY and ALL the machines on my network automatically. Is there a way to accomplish that, where I don't have to hardcode it.

    Thanks again
    Nope, no way that's going to happen. All discovery comes from broadcasts or some sort of database inquiries. Only NETBIOS can operate with broadcasts. DNS requires a database and only recently has it become dynamic and liked to DHCP. There is no magic in networking.

    Sorry for the late response. It's been a busy week.

    -Capscrew

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    Hi, got the same error message from 1st post on this thread, upgraded my laptop from 11.04 to 11.10, network was ok to browse in 11.04 but not after upgrade.
    The laptop also dual boots into Mint11 and that and my desktop running 10.04 can access network shares with no issues.

    Been using ubuntu for a few years but I'm very much a novice.

    I've included info requested from others in the hope that it may also help.

    craig@craig-M7x0K:~$ hostname
    craig-M7x0K

    craig@craig-M7x0K:~$ smbtree
    Enter craig's password:
    WORKGROUP
    \\NEACLOSE
    cli_start_connection: failed to connect to NEACLOSE<20> (0.0.0.0). Error NT_STATUS_UNSUCCESSFUL
    \\CRAIG-M7X0K craig-M7x0K server (Samba, Ubuntu)
    \\CRAIG-M7X0K\HP-Photosmart-7400 HP Photosmart 7400
    \\CRAIG-M7X0K\IPC$ IPC Service (craig-M7x0K server (Samba, Ubuntu))
    \\CRAIG-M7X0K\print$ Printer Drivers
    HOME
    \\BTHUB3 BT Home Hub 3.0A File Server
    cli_start_connection: failed to connect to BTHUB3<20> (0.0.0.0). Error NT_STATUS_CONNECTION_REFUSED


    craig@craig-M7x0K:~$ testparm -s
    Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
    rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
    Processing section "[printers]"
    Processing section "[print$]"
    Loaded services file OK.
    Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
    [global]
    server string = %h server (Samba, Ubuntu)
    map to guest = Bad User
    obey pam restrictions = Yes
    pam password change = Yes
    passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
    passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
    unix password sync = Yes
    syslog = 0
    log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
    max log size = 1000
    dns proxy = No
    usershare allow guests = Yes
    panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d

    [printers]
    comment = All Printers
    path = /var/spool/samba
    create mask = 0700
    printable = Yes
    browseable = No

    [print$]
    comment = Printer Drivers
    path = /var/lib/samba/printers
    craig@craig-M7x0



    Portion of the smb.conf file, that has been identified as requiring changing below ..... also are the lines suggested to be added just added on at the end of the "global section" or are some other line(s) required to be removed and would they need a # at the begining of each added line?

    [global]

    ## Browsing/Identification ###

    # Change this to the workgroup/NT-domain name your Samba server will part of
    workgroup = WORKGROUP

    # server string is the equivalent of the NT Description field
    server string = %h server (Samba, Ubuntu)

    # Windows Internet Name Serving Support Section:
    # WINS Support - Tells the NMBD component of Samba to enable its WINS Server
    # wins support = no

    # WINS Server - Tells the NMBD components of Samba to be a WINS Client
    # Note: Samba can be either a WINS Server, or a WINS Client, but NOT both
    ; wins server = w.x.y.z

    # This will prevent nmbd to search for NetBIOS names through DNS.
    dns proxy = no

    # What naming service and in what order should we use to resolve host names
    # to IP addresses
    ; name resolve order = lmhosts host wins bcast


    Apologies for the long post ... just hoping someone can help.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    And I thought I explained it pretty good.

    Quote Originally Posted by cherryredz View Post
    ...

    Portion of the smb.conf file, that has been identified as requiring changing below ..... also are the lines suggested to be added just added on at the end of the "global section" or are some other line(s) required to be removed and would they need a # at the begining of each added line?
    You can put the lines anywhere in the [global] section. I would put the 2 lines at the end. You can add it just as is appears in red below in your example.

    The # or ; tells samba to ignore the line. it effectively makes the line a comment only.

    [global]

    ## Browsing/Identification ###

    # Change this to the workgroup/NT-domain name your Samba server will part of
    workgroup = WORKGROUP

    # server string is the equivalent of the NT Description field
    server string = %h server (Samba, Ubuntu)

    # Windows Internet Name Serving Support Section:
    # WINS Support - Tells the NMBD component of Samba to enable its WINS Server
    # wins support = no

    # WINS Server - Tells the NMBD components of Samba to be a WINS Client
    # Note: Samba can be either a WINS Server, or a WINS Client, but NOT both
    ; wins server = w.x.y.z

    # This will prevent nmbd to search for NetBIOS names through DNS.
    dns proxy = no

    # What naming service and in what order should we use to resolve host names
    # to IP addresses

    # you can use any name as long as it is 15 characters or less
    # for a netbios name
    netbios name = craig-M7x0K
    name resolve order = bcast host

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    15

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    Capscrew, you probably explained it very well, but you couldn't have anticipated "the technically challenged me" trying to resolve the problem.

    Thanks for quick reply, will attack the issue with renewed enthusiasm and belief when I get home from work in a few hours.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    15

    Smile Re: Can't Browse Network

    Thank you Capscrew access to network achieved.

    Your patience, understanding and help is greatly appreciated, My knowledge has possibly improved ever so slightly thanks to your help.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    18

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    Just another shout-out to Capscrew to say thanks for your guidance. This helped me, too.

    That being said, I don't understand what changed with the upgrade to 11.10 to require this. I don't remember ever having to do this on my workstations in past releases.

    Anyway, thanks again.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Beans
    28
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    capscrew

    Thanks for your solution!

    I just was having this exact problem and and adding:
    name resolve order = bcast host

    to the smb.conf file fixed it immediately.
    Thanks again.

    Though I'm still wondering why I had to do this. I just did a fresh install of 11.10 a few days ago and the windows share was working right out of the box and then today it just would not work.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    Hi there

    hope its ok to join thread and people still using it, as this is the problem I'm currenlty having. I have installed ubuntu server 12.04 and windows 7.

    I tried adding the code;

    Code:
     netbios name = <hostname>
    name resolve order = bcast host
    this did make the windows pc visable on the ubuntu sever but then in the windows network, I am now un able to see the ubuntu server.

    when I removed the code from the smb.conf the ubuntu pc becomes visable on the windows pc again??

    Any thoughts as to what this might be would be I would be very greatful.

    many thanks

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Beans
    24

    Re: Can't Browse Network

    seem to work if just put line

    Code:
     
    name resolve order = bcast host
    to smb.conf


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •