Thread: Sound stuttering in Ubuntu

Beans

Unhappy Sound stuttering in Ubuntu

Okay, I just upgraded to 11.10, and my sound stutters, and works really badly. My computer is Acer Aspire One, AO751h. It really bugs me, please help me.
    PS: I am not that good with linux, so please be patient and keep it simple.
    Yeah and my mic doesn't work either, pretty annoying, should I install Ubuntu 11.04? I have all my files on Ubuntu One so I don't mind.

Beans

Re: Sound stuttering in Ubuntu

Hi, I've the same problem in my AO751h. Once I installed (fresh) the 11.10 version, the mic didn't work and the sound was intermitent. I tried to update the ALSA driver and now ubuntu doesn't detect the audio (the aplay utility doesn't play any sound...).
    Please... help!!
    Thanks!

Beans

Hi guys,

I've joined specially to post what worked for me (fix for choppy audio, don't know about the other bits!). I too have an Acer Aspire One 751h and have spend several hours searching and trying different fixes. I cannot say 100% that it was not down to a combination of things I tried, but nothing else seemed to have any effect and then this one fix just worked:

Press Ctrl+Alt+T to open the Terminal window

Copy & Paste (Ctrl+C then Ctrl+Shift+V)/type in the following text:

gedit /etc/pulse/default.pa

Now find the line which says load-module module-udev-detect

change it to read
    load-module module-udev-detect tsched=0

save and close the text editor

In the terminal window type:

pulseaudio -k

to restart Pulse Audio. Now run your sound/video file and it should all be working ok. If not then post again and I'll tell you all the other stuff I tried!

Taken from - http://www.st4ck.com/it/post/ubuntu-...-sync/#Runtime
    Last edited by MRA2011; November 6th, 2011 at 03:12 PM.

Beans

Thank you, MRA2011.

I was having problems with stuttering audio on my Acer Aspire 5755G with Ubuntu 11.10.

I tried your fix above and it worked flawlessly.