Thread: 1and1 domain point to my server?

Beans

1and1 domain point to my server?

Hello, I am new to the whole hosting a server from home for something other than testing purposes. But anyways, I am using Ubuntu 11.10 on an old upgraded Dell Poweredge 2800. I am trying to point my domain names(4 of them all pointing to the same site) registered with 1and1.com to my web server at my homes static ip address. I have tried using bind9 but don't think I am doing it correctly because it hasn't worked yet... Are there any alternatives to bind9 that I could to point my domain to my server? I can't edit much from the control panel on my domains control panel. Any thoughts would be really appreciated thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: 1and1 domain point to my server?

Note before: I am not an expert on this subject, and I only reply because it has been 14 hours and nobody else did.
    There is a good thread on why a public facing DNS is not a good idea here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1787730
    I run a bind9 based DNS, but only for my local LAN.
    For my public facing domain name and static IP addresses: My ISP told me the two name servers to list with my domian name registrar, which I was able to enter myself in my account; My ISP added the"A" and "MX" and "CNAME" and such records to those name servers.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Spardra View Post