Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    9

    No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    Hi, this is something that bugs me as I am trying to learn linux networking. I read in the manual that most ethernet configuration is located in /etc/network/interfaces. This is my interfaces file:

    PHP Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback 
    As you can see no eth connection is defined, even though everything works perfect. Here's my ifconfig eth0 output:

    PHP Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:19:db:c8:ae:03  
              inet addr
    :10.0.0.2  Bcast:10.0.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr
    fe80::219:dbff:fec8:ae03/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU
    :1500  Metric:1
              RX packets
    :10377768 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets
    :6162989 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions
    :0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes
    :2406411484 (2.4 GB)  TX bytes:443869381 (443.8 MB)
              
    Interrupt:27 
    So my question is: how come no ethernet interface is defined, and still everything works perfectly fine?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Beans
    1,514
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    you most likely have network-manager installed

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    I do! If so, where can I find the configuration files?
    Also, I don't remember installing it, any chance its default on ubuntu? I don't see why, but still

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Beans
    1,514
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    its installed by default, you can remove it to make /etc/network/interfaces work (I do this on each of my installs) but if you've set it up wrong then you'll be without the net.

    If you prefer you can just edit the IP settings through the GUI.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    53

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    if your doing static your interfaces file should look something like this

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.105
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.0
    broadcast 192.168.0.255
    gateway 192.168.1.1

    for dhcp it will look like this

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    #address 192.168.1.105
    #netmask 255.255.255.0
    #network 192.168.1.0
    #broadcast 192.168.0.255
    #gateway 192.168.1.1

    # is used to comment out code

    for a static ip you will also need your nameserver ip's which you will enter into /etc/resolv.conf

    you can find nameservers in your router status under dns (at least on my router), connect to your router using your gateway ip address which you can find by typing ifconfig in terminal. enter the gateway ip in your browser, most default name/passwords are admin/admin or admin/password (look up your routers defaults on google or whatever search engine you prefer) once you've done all this you need to set aside a reserved IP so your routers dhcp doesn't assign your static ip to another computer (optional)

    if you cant find the nameservers in your router just use dhcp settings in /etc/network/interfaces and type enter the following in terminal

    sudo ifdown eth0
    sudo ifup eth0

    Now resolv.conf should have the name servers and you can change back to static if you wish.

    I'm still working for my 50 beans and I'm giving myself a gold star... <--- rofl
    Last edited by AskTell; October 6th, 2011 at 07:17 PM. Reason: jonobr pointed out a mistake in my static settings

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Craggy Island.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    Code:
    address 192.168.1.105
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.0.0<--- this should be 192.168.1.0
    You can tell a man who boozes by the company he chooses, as the pig got up and slowly walked away.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    41

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    Hi everyone.
    I didn't know if I should ask this here since my question is nearly the same or if I should start a new thread. Anyway, here's my question.

    I'm also needing help setting up my IP address. I'm setting up my computer to use as a file server just for my home intranet, so I don't need
    any access going to or from it to the internet.

    Also, I'm using Ubuntu Server 10.04 and I'm wanting to use a static ip setup for access to the computer.

    In many of the threads that I've read, it says that if your setting up a static ip,
    your /etc/network/interfaces file should look something like this, as it is written above:

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.105
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.0
    broadcast 192.168.0.255
    gateway 192.168.1.1


    **********************

    Looking at this example, do I still need all of the Ip addresses given to use for my purpose or only somes of them? If so, which ones?
    Last edited by MOGuy78; October 12th, 2011 at 07:23 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    14

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    Quote Originally Posted by MOGuy78 View Post
    Hi everyone.
    I didn't know if I should ask this here since my question is nearly the same or if I should start a new thread. Anyway, here's my question.

    I'm also needing help setting up my IP address. I'm setting up my computer to use as a file server just for my home intranet, so I don't need
    any access going to or from it to the internet.

    Also, I'm using Ubuntu Server 10.04 and I'm wanting to use a static ip setup for access to the computer.

    In many of the threads that I've read, it says that if your setting up a static ip,
    your /etc/network/interfaces file should look something like this, as it is written above:

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.105
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.0
    broadcast 192.168.0.255
    gateway 192.168.1.1


    **********************

    Looking at this example, do I still need all of the Ip addresses given to use for my purpose or only somes of them? If so, which ones?
    Code:
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.105
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.0
    broadcast 192.168.0.255
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    should work just fine if the gateway is your router (192.168.1.1) and it should be possible to access the ubuntu box via 192.168.1.105

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    INDIA-Kerala
    Beans
    1,604
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    Quote Originally Posted by yotamoo View Post
    I do! If so, where can I find the configuration files?
    In /etc/NetworkManager/system-connections
    There will be seperate files for eth0 DSL etc
    Registered linux user #518022

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Craggy Island.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: No eth0 defined in /etc/network/interfaces

    Not sure I understand the question, but if your given a static IP the contents of your /etc/network.interfaces lines will change

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.105
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 192.168.1.0
    broadcast 192.168.0.255
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    Each line here has a unique function to tell the machine its ip address, how to talk to the network and to other devices and how to go to the internt.

    The above example is useful for a user who needs an IP address (static) on the 192.168.1.x network and if he is using eth0 and if his gateway is .1

    If you have been given a static IP address by your ISP or you picking one yourself, the contents of the above file (if you choose to use it this way,) will differ
    You can tell a man who boozes by the company he chooses, as the pig got up and slowly walked away.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •